Banana Caramel Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I prefer this pie on a regular pastry crust. You get all the flavor from the caramel and bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I used store bought chocolate cookie pie crust and put the sweetened condensed milk in the crockpot on low overnight, as the other reviewers suggested. No other changes, and it was really yummy. It never really "set" though, and it was a runny gooey mess- more like a pudding. It's worth trying again though, in hopes that it was a fluke :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
GREAT substitution for the 3 hours boiled sweetened cond. milk - go to the mexican section of your grocery store and they sell the sweetened condensed milk already caramelized (dulce de leche)! My friend made this pie with it...yummy and saves 3 hours of your time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
The trick is to cover the can of condensed milk completely,and turn the can over at least once. Not sure why other reviewers had problems because I made this pie for the tenth time today and have never had any problems.Totally simple and oh so decadent.Definately Good Eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good Eats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARH95
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made this with two cans of milk, boiled for 3.5 hours, which I left in the cupboard overnight. Spooned it into a chocolate graham, topped with two bananas, then with Cool Whip. Tried to write Happy Birthday with Hersheys topping and sprinkled with chocolate pieces. I did not think I would be able to tolerate this pie. I got the idea from a friend, then came to this site to check out recipes. It was decadent and yummy and I not only tolerated it, I ate a full piece and wanted more. It was good... and I am still marveling at the magical caramel that comes out of the can. Next time, I will use the slow cooker method I read about. The boiling method was easy but the hard water from water dripping on the stove top left a bit of a mess. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I made this two nights ago and OH! MY! GOSH! It was super easy and sooooo yummy! The sweetest part of it is the bananas, which caught me off guard! I took the advice of others and used an oreo pie tin/crust, and folded the bananas into the condensed milk (after 3 hrs boiling - half on one side and half on the other) and they didn't turn brown and the pie was a HIT! I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I came back to this three times the other day. I couldn't stand it anymore and had to make it. I totally cheated and bought a container of caramel dip by the apples at the store, and grabbed the other ingredients and came home and threw it together. I took it work the next morning and I had to hide the last two pieces to bring home to hubby and son. Will be making this again...I think in a square pan next time and make my own graham cracker crust...I'll probably cheat again and use the store caramel, as that worked fine for me...maybe it is a little more runny than the condensed milk way...but we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I followed the directions (first time cooking sweetened condensed milk) and only half the can was carmel. I later googled cooking sweetened condensed milk and learned the can should be submerged in water, not only just 2 inches of water as this recipe states. Might want to check into that if this is your first time. 2 stars for poor directions, otherwise great pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Delicious! Easy! Wow! I was intrigued by this idea and had to try it, but afraid of an explosion, so I used the crock pot method. It really does turn into caramel and makes a GREAT pie. I bake alot and love when you find those rare recipes that are so easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarshallAlum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jexy101
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
i had this at my grandmas house and in 30 mins it was gone it was AMAZING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jexy101

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States