Banana Cake X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I have been wanting to try a banana cake recipe for a while now. Specifically one with a caramel frosting. I made this one using the golden butter cake mix from Duncan Hines and it turned out absolutely wonderful. I made it two ways as I had two boxes of mix that I wanted to get rid of. I did a layer cake with caramel frosting and a bundt cake with ganache poured over it. I wish I could give it a better rating because this is one of the few cakes I have come across that need no icing at all, I found I prefer it alone although everyone at work loved it with the caramel icing. It's absolutely perfect. DON'T under any circumstances add banana creme pudding mix to it (like I did for the bundt cake). It's cake, but it takes away from the banana flavor. This recipe is perfect just the way it's written. Thank you for sharing it Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I had three over ripe bananas I wanted to use up and stumbled upon this recipe. I wouldn't consider it "company" quality, but it's a nice, quick cake to make. I used a spice cake mix, 3 bananas, and topped with a caramel glaze of 1/2 c. butter, 2 tsp. milk or cream, and 1/2 c. brown sugar, boiling until sugar is dissolved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Excellent, easy, and tasty. A keeper. Great way to use over ripe bananas. Baked as a bundt cake, increase the baking time by about 10 minutes and put a chocolate glaze over it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but this cake puffed up very high in the oven and as soon as I took it out it fell about three inches. I cooked it for 35 minutes, but it never did spring back when I touched it. The toothpick test was clean and I was afraid to cook it for any longer. It tastes wonderful, but why did it fall? Can anyone help me? I'd really like to make this again, because it does taste so good, but I don't want another flop on my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
This was a very delicious and moist cake. I made a few minor changes--I used 1 cup of milk and added only 1 tsp lemon juice and 1 tsp lemon juice to the bananas (I only had a half of a lemon) I also used 2 tsp pure vanilla extract and melted the butter in the microwave so it would mix into the batter easier. Instead of baking it in a 13x9-inch pan, I used two 9 inch round cake pan and baked it for 30 to 35 minutes. I split the cakes horizontally and filled the cakes with a banana custard mousse filling and added some sliced strawberries to that and frosted it with a banana cream cheese frosting and decorated the cake with a few strawberries. Can we say yum???--It was a hit!! Thanks for a keeper, Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This was a whole lot of yum, and not much effort at all. The only change I made was I added one additional banana to what the recipe called for. I topped it with a cream cheese frosting and it was simply divine! I will definitely use this recipe for my leftover bananas from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilsonville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I loved the convenience of using the cake mix. It was very light and almost melted in my mouth. I used 4 bananas, added some walnuts and used 2/3 cup of sour cream in place of the milk/lemon juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Lafargue

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Farmington, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I LOVE THIS CAKE! It is the first banana cake that was more like cake than banana bread. It has a nice delicate fluffy texture just like cake. It is so easy and tastes fantastic. My favorite way to eat this is to poke it with many holes when it comes from the oven and pour warm pudding (vanilla or butterscotch) over it. The holes fill up with pudding, and there is no need for frosting, but it tastes wonderful with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I used a butter recipe golden cake mis. It was great. I usually use the banana cake mix but I was out and only had the yellow mix. I decided to give it a try. Everyone said it was better than the banana cake mix. Cake was very moist. I made an icing from mashed bananas, 2 T margarine and a box of confectioner sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glenda
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was Great hit at my house, My 9yr old grand daughter helped make it and loved smashing the bananas, I did ude 3 by the way, The rest was great as is, I used a 10 inch bundt pan. So I cooked it at 325 degrees for 50 minutes. I used a vanilla frosting because that is what I had on hand and it was fantastic! My husband loved it and wants me to make him another one right away.Glenda :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coarsegold, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States