Banana Cake X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Excellent moist cake! I made it with a homemade chocolate fudge frosting for my daughter's first b-day and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Super moist, super good. I used a banana cream cheese frosting and it was delicious. Very easy to make using the cake mix and no one will believe its not totally from scratch. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
If your looking for a different banana cake recipe try this one. It's very moist and tastes delicious. I iced mine with caramel icing and it was a smashing hit. Next time I'm going to add some walnuts. Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
My family is a comprised of chocoholics, so I didn't know how this cake was going to fly with them. It turns they (and I) loved it!! It is incredibly moist, easy to assemble, and delicious. I used "homemade buttermilk" where you put a tablespoon of lemon juice or white vinegar in a measuring cup and add milk to the one cup line, since I don't keep buttermilk on hand. It worked perfectly and I will make this cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
I made this into a great layer cake by using 2 9 inch round cake tins, don't have an exact baking time just kinda kept an eye on it. I made a box of banana pudding (half the milk) to put in the middle. I mixed a little banana exract into a tub of whipped vanilla icing. It was fantastic, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
This was a very delicious and moist cake. I made a few minor changes--I used 1 cup of milk and added only 1 tsp lemon juice and 1 tsp lemon juice to the bananas (I only had a half of a lemon) I also used 2 tsp pure vanilla extract and melted the butter in the microwave so it would mix into the batter easier. Instead of baking it in a 13x9-inch pan, I used two 9 inch round cake pan and baked it for 30 to 35 minutes. I split the cakes horizontally and filled the cakes with a banana custard mousse filling and added some sliced strawberries to that and frosted it with a banana cream cheese frosting and decorated the cake with a few strawberries. Can we say yum???--It was a hit!! Thanks for a keeper, Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
I loved this easy cake, and so did all the people in my office. I didn't change anything, and put a simple powdered sugar frosting on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
EXCELLENT Recipe! I went ahead and used buttermilk instead of the lemon juice/milk combo. Was very moist and very yummy. I went with the caramel idea but instead just melted a bag of caramels with some water and poured it on. Served it with whipped cream. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This is an awesome banana cake. It's nice that it's now just another banana "bread". Not heavy or dark. I use the old cream cheese frosting and my husband likes it that way. But I'm gonna search for a Caramel frosting this time. thanks Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Very moist, good banana flavor. Served with chocolate frosting - big hit! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States