Banana Cake X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Very light and airy; not a dense banana cake. I also used the 2/3 c sour cream instead of milk and lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This cake is awesome!! I read the reviews and used 2/3 cup of sour cream instead of the milk and lemon juice. Plus, I only had a Yellow Cake Mix in the pantry...so I used that. I have added this recipe to my most favorites!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savta Sinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brazil, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I had three over ripe bananas I wanted to use up and stumbled upon this recipe. I wouldn't consider it "company" quality, but it's a nice, quick cake to make. I used a spice cake mix, 3 bananas, and topped with a caramel glaze of 1/2 c. butter, 2 tsp. milk or cream, and 1/2 c. brown sugar, boiling until sugar is dissolved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
It is a good cake. A little moist but a very good way to finish up those blackening bananas. I also add about half cup of chopped walnuts and it comes out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
easiest recipe I've done. Taste Great and was a hit with my friend and family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I've made this a few times and have always had great reviews. I used 3 very ripe bananas, added 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and used 1 fresh lemon. Using a fresh lemon instead of bottled lemon juice made a big difference in the taste. I then frosted with a light cream cheese frosting. Yummy! I baked 3 of these for a friend to take to a carry-in at her work, she didn't have any leftovers!!! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This was pretty good, but not my favorite. A lot of reviewers said 3 bananas, and for me, 3 made it too mooshy. I think if I were to make again, I’d use 2, but just make sure they were super over-ripe. I would also maybe add a bit of baking powder, as this was rather flat and ugly looking. And maybe use unsalted butter. Normally, I am a salt fiend, and I like to use salted butter when baking, because I like the sweet/salty combo, but this tasted like salty bananas, a little. Anyway... I’m going to give the full on homemade banana cake a try, and see if it’s worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
very tasty, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This cake won first place at a church dessert contest. I added chopped toasted pecans to the batter,baked in a bundt pan, and topped with a carmel glaze.Had lots of request for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This is a great, easy cake to make in a hurry. My husband is obsessed with it and insists on eating it once a week!! I also use banana frosting made with banana cream pudding mix and a small carton of cool whip and it really makes the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States