Banana Cake X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! I just took it today for a potluck, along with flan and a pound cake, and everyone at the potluck liked this recipe the best! It's so moist, and not that sweet, which is a good thing, so the flavor isn't overpowering. I followed other suggestions, such as using 3 bananas, and no lemon on the bananas. I also used a bit more milk (almost 1 cup!) than the recipe said, since i accidently overpoured in my 1c measuring cup, but that may have made the difference. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I stumbled upon this cake one time when I had leftover bananas, and it is BY FAR the most popular cake I have ever made. My husband's friends ask for it within 5 minutes of entering our home, and there is never a piece leftover! I used sour cream instead of milk and lemon juice and used 3 bananas instead of 2. Delicious, moist, fluffy cake that is a hit with all that try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This recipe is so moist! My husband just loves it and says it his very favortie cake! I added cream cheese icing, but not much because it takes away from the cake. I also used 4 bananas and a yellow cake mix, bacause I didn't have a butter one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Got raves from party guests - truly a great cake! Made as directed except substituted buttermilk for the milk/lemon juice mixture (FYI -the lemon juice is used to sour the milk and make a substitute for buttermilk, which most people don't keep around.) You wouldn't believe it started with a box mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
My kids LOVE this cake! I made it and they begged me to make it again the next day! I used 3 bananas. Thanks for sharing! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Just what I was looking for! I was looking for help in jazzing up a gluten-free cake mix. The cake turned out so moist and flavorful, you could never tell it was from a box mix. Thanks, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu loves to cook!
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Very light and airy; not a dense banana cake. I also used the 2/3 c sour cream instead of milk and lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This cake is awesome!! I read the reviews and used 2/3 cup of sour cream instead of the milk and lemon juice. Plus, I only had a Yellow Cake Mix in the pantry...so I used that. I have added this recipe to my most favorites!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savta Sinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brazil, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I had three over ripe bananas I wanted to use up and stumbled upon this recipe. I wouldn't consider it "company" quality, but it's a nice, quick cake to make. I used a spice cake mix, 3 bananas, and topped with a caramel glaze of 1/2 c. butter, 2 tsp. milk or cream, and 1/2 c. brown sugar, boiling until sugar is dissolved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
It is a good cake. A little moist but a very good way to finish up those blackening bananas. I also add about half cup of chopped walnuts and it comes out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States