Banana Cake X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Amazing cake with just the right amount of banana flavor. I made a layer cake and frosted it with a chocolate icing and it was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This was a very moist, flavorful, and easy to make cake. Many people raved about it. The only thing I did different was making a cream cheese frosting from 1 pkg. cream cheese, 1\4 cup melted margarine, 1 tsp. vanilla, and about 4 cups of powdered sugar, enough to get it thick. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This recipe is so good as is that no changes are needed at all -- and it is not too sweet yet a frosting of any kind is not needed. My mother AND my son loved it so much that they request it almost every week since I first made it. It is my go-to cake on the weekends when I want to use up so-called leftover bananas before I bring in more for the week ahead. I say so-called leftover because I believe my son AND my mother buy more bananas then can possibly be eaten before they get too ripe now that I have made this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
For those who need to leave out citrus, use buttermilk. The acid from the lemon juice added to the milk actually make buttermilk. This is an old *recipe* for buttermilk, so either will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
FOR THOSE W/ DAIRY ALLERGIES... This recipe works well as written using vanilla soy milk in place of milk (yes, add the lemon juice), and dairy-free 'BUTTER' spread in place of real butter (i.e. Spectrum Naturals spread). Cake was fluffy and moist; I cooked for 45-50 minutes. The middle did fall a bit, but this did not affect taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylovestoeat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Fantastic recipe! I did not change ONE thing about the recipe!!! Baked it as a bundt cake. The moistest cake I have EVER had! Not heavy like a bread, not super sweet like a cake. No icing. Absolutely delicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I have been using this recipe for about 3 years. The only thing I do differently is elimate the lemon juice and substitute 1 cup buttermilk for the milk. I top it with cream cheese icing (1 stick butter, 1 pkg. cream cheese, 1 tsp. vanilla, and 4 c. powdered sugar). This cake is a hit everywhere I take it. I even get requests to bring it to parties. A very moist and delicious cake. It's my hubby's favorite dessert. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Oh my GOSH! This was phenomenal! Since I'm allergic to citrus I left out the lemon juice and this cake STILL rocked! I made it as a sheet cake and it's already more than half gone. I will be using this recipe for my daughter's birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kel Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
The flavor was amazing. Really nice banana flavor. The texture, however, was a bit too "light" for my preference. Indicative of a boxed cake mix. I might use this again to give to someone when I need a quick recipe, (it was well received by friends!) but in general, I'll make my scratch version, adding an extra banana and a tipple of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This cake is the best. Have made over and over and frezes beautifully. Kay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States