Banana Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Awesome recipe. I made this and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
ice and serve hot out of the oven!!! so so very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Tastes good but I think the 50-60minute cooking time is too long. The amount of sugar for the topping is a little much too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I made this cake for a gathering and everyone liked it. But there was a bitter taste in your mouth after. I can only guess that it was from the baking soda? As much as we liked it when we were eating it,i could never make it again,because of the nasty after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Light and delicious! I cut down to 4 bananas due to previous reviews that the cake was too dense and more bread-like. I also added 1/2 tsp of salt. I opted to make cupcakes instead of a sheet cake and the recipient yielded 27 cupcakes. I cooked them for about 18 minutes. Topped with creamy chocolate frosting from this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I used a cream cheese frosting instead of the chocolate chip/nut topping and it was absolutely delicious. I did add a little cinnamon and nutmeg. Great way to use up old bananas. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
i tried this recipe and it didnt turn out anything like urs did im not sure what happened i followed the recipe exactly as it said and it was not gd at all i will try to make it again and hopefully it turns out better next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Excellent! We always have bananas getting too ripe and didn't want to make bread again so I tried this. Very moist and tasty. Didn't change a thing, wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Excellent!! So moist and tasted so yummy!! I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I tried this years ago & truly thought I'd already rated it. It was by "Carolyn" then, but it's the same recipe. I've tried 18l (no exaggeration) recipes, & so far, this is the best one. It makes a nice, big cake; fills the pan. I didn't do the topping though. 7/12 'Finally trying again. Decreased sugar to 1c. Subbed wheat flour for a half cup white. Used a stick of omega3SmartBalance & 2T marg. I don't think with fattening sour cream, that much more additional fat is needed to make a good cake. Also, it's kinda weird to add so little sour cream alternately with flour - so I didn't. :) 'Added it to the bowl & gradually added the flour mixture. Added 1/2t salt & didn't do the topping. It's done at 35min. Maybe it was done earlier. 'Haven't tried it yet. 8/12 'Tried w buttermilk instead & baked in 9.5x13.5. Good size, doesn't mound so much. Done in 45 min. 8/13 24 cupcakes in 20 minutes. I lessened fat more by only using 1/2c butter. Of course, I topped with cream cheese frosting. :D Not that these are low, but could maybe have made 18, but I'd rather have'em stay in the liners & not bake on the tin - if ya know where I'm going ... ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States