Banana Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
the first time i made this cAke my husband ate the whole thing the same day i ended up make this cake for two weeks stright. My family and i love this cake BEST BANANA CAKE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
decreased the butter by 2 Tbs and decreased suger by 1/4 cup, baked in an 8x8 pan for 35 min. cream cheese icing, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this a few moments ago. It did not rise as high as I thought it would and yes it is dense. I added chocolate chips along with the banana. It is tasty but I was expecting it to rise more and be more of a standard yellow cake. I will keep looking for a better recipe. By the way, I only filled one 9 inch pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Easy and excellent flavor. Wish the recipe made more batter, though. Makes a rather shallow cake. But the wonderful taste and texture overcame a potential 4 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is a great recipe. First I tried it in a 9 inch pan. It tasted great but it did not raise much. Second time I changed the serving size to 36 and baked it in a 9X13 inch pan.I also added a little extra baking power and replaced the sugar with 1/2 brown sugar and also added a handful of blueberries into the batter. It turned out great. Its a keeper. Thank you Lyle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My family likes this recipe. It is nice and fluffy. I use No Cook frosting with it, like a meringue fluffy topping and it tastes like a good banana flip! The last time I made this cake, it did turn out dry, so I'm not sure what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I thought the recipe was great. I made it exactly as written. I found it easy to prepare and it came out very moist and tasty. I made cupcakes out of the batter and they took about 18 minutes to bake. I got 21 regular sized cupcakes out of the recipe. I made them into banana split cupcakes by filling them with strawberry preserves and frosted them with pineapple cream cheese frosting and drizzled with hot fudge and topped with a maraschino cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Weiser, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Really good!!! My dad said its his new favorite cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Loved this recipe! Made quite a few different banana cakes, this is way up there. Made mine as cupcakes, and iced with lemon buttercream. Followed advice of other reviewers and added 1/4 tsp baking powder, and swapped 1/3C white sugars for brown, doing only 3/4C sugar total. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Best banana cake I've ever made. I made in a glass 8x10" pan and used NO frosting. My boys hate cream cheese :( But the cake didn't last 24 hours. They ate for dessert last night and finished it for breakfast this morning! I ADDED CHOPPED PECANS. yum! this is easier and faster than banana bread and much moister!!! (the cake didn't last long enough for me to get the photo!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kennedy Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States