Banana Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Made these for a sport breakfast at my daughter's school and overheard one girl saying they were the best muffins she had ever eaten. These muffins have made me a legend, and I make sure to never tell anyone how easy they really are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This cake is definitely a keeper! I didn't have buttermilk in the house, so I substituted what I had in the fridge, fat free sour cream. The cake turned out great anyway; it was moist, light and extremely flavorful. The delicious frosting created a perfect balance. Thanks, Ms. Carnes, for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JessieJay1979
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
All I can say is BEST cake I ever made I wish I could have gave it ten stars that's how good it was! Really simple directions and worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Good but pretty heavy. I made it as a trial for my son's upcoming birthday. I will try another recipe since I don't think the kids will go for such a dense cake. Very moist though. I added chocolate chips. I think mini chocolate chips would have worked better with the texture, or maybe no chips (first time I have ever said that about banana cake). I made 2 cakes with this - one 8 inch and one 6x8 inch. I too had to bake it much longer - 1 hr 20 min, and I thought with2 smaller cakes it should have taken less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe even though it seemed odd, I did have to cook it about 20 minutes longer but it was amazing. Nice and chewy but I didn't find it heavy at all like other reviewers had said. This will definitely be my go to banana cake recipe. Instead of the cream cheese frosting I made a peanut butter frosting, awesome combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is absolutely the best cake ever. I have made it twice with great results both times. The time spent in the freezer is well spent. I wonder whether this method could be adapted to another cake recipe such as a chocolate cake to make it equally moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made this cake today and took it to a birthday party. It was a huge hit! Some of the men actually went back for seconds! I followed the recipe except I might have added more bananas so that could account for the baking time of at least an hour and a half. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Made this for my mom's birthday and it was a hit. Super moist just enough sweet, definitely making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
OMG I made this cake and it was scrumptious! I had to bake it for 1 1/2 hrs but it was worth it! Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeepgal98
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I made this recipe twice in the last month (and making it again right now) and everyone raves about it! I made it exactly as instructed and it comes out moist and delicious. I made a banana foster rum sauce to pour over the top when serving and it's just amazing. This is the recipe everyone asks for now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States