Banana Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
YUM!!!!!!!! It did take about 10 min more in my electric oven, but it turned out great. I used a loaf pan and a 9" square pan instead of 9x13. I had one at home for the family (it's almost all gone and was eaten hot). The other was taken to work following the directions through to the freezer. The cakes were moist, light goodness. It was well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This really truly is an excellent Banana Cake. I doubled the recipe and baked it for my daughters 14th Birthday. I think there were 28 people and I had nothing but raved reviews. The only thing that is a concern for me is that I recently completed a food safe course where we were instructed to NEVER put anything hot into the freezer as it lowers the temperature of the entire freezer, resulting in improper cooling of the freezer contents. We learned that 30 percent of Foodborne illness outbreaks are due to improper cooling. My only suggestion then would be to place the cake in a cooler (or even a sink filled with bagged ice or ice packs covered with a towel so nothing leaks into the cake. I would then be able to give this recipe 100 percent just like it deserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I've been using this recipe, from this site, for years. EVERYONE loves it. My results vary depending on whether I follow the recipe exactly. When I do, it's perfect. And I get requests for it all the time. It's so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARVISINGERMANY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gauley Bridge, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Boomer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amadnurse
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Oh my Lordy it was so good. Moist and delicious. I used 6 very ripe bananas. Didn't have butter milk so I used 1/2 plain yogurt mixed in with 1 cup whole milk the rest of the recipe I followed exactly as written and I used bundt pan so it took longer to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Made this for my son's birthday and it was a hit! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Very good! I followed the recipe (low heat and freezer time) and the cake is very moist with a terrific banana flavor. I halved the recipe to make an 8 x 8 cake and used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 Stevia. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This is the best banana cake recipe ever! I had to bake it for ten minutes than recipe said. You will not be disappointed. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I tried this recipe twice and it was delicious both times. The cooking time took 90 minutes, not 60. About three weeks after the second time I made it, our freezer was leaking water. I discovered a sheet of ice under the freezer trays and I believe this occurred because of the cake going immediately from oven to freezer. I was able to resolve the problem by carefully removing the ice but will not make this cake the same way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This was a really good cake. I made it exactly as written. It took my oven about one hour and 15 minutes to cook thoroughly. It is definitely a banana cake; slightly denser than your standard box cake, but that is typically the case with cakes from scratch. My entire family loved it. It reminded one of a banana bread, and another said it reminded her of banana pudding. All in all, it was just plain good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was an epic failure. After one hour at 275 degrees, this cake was RAW (like in jiggly) in the middle. I had to give it another 15 minutes at 350 in order to get it to firm up. The extra cooking time dried it out. I also tried 45 minutes in the freezer. My end result? dense, somewhat chewy cake. I will admit the flavor was good, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States