Banana Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Tried this for the boys at work and couldn't say enough on how great this was, definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I have been making banana cake for 50 years. Last Sunday was my son's birthday and since banana is his favourite I decided to try a different recipe. AMAZING ! We were 5 adults and 4 kids - leftovers? - you must be kidding! Any Changes ? Yes : I was short of time and instead of 275 I put the oven at 300 .I am glad I did because it took an hour and 20 minutes instead of an hour for the toothpick to come clean. Would I try it again ? YES! YES ! YES! NANA GAMA - OAKVILLE-ON P.S. SORRY NO TIME FOR PICTURE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
My daughter and I made this cake exactly as written and it was phenomenal!!! Worth 5 stars because the directions were clear and the cake turned out as expected. The only thing I might change next time is decrease the sugar a bit in the frosting. Or maybe not - it was SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Russ Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Made these for a sport breakfast at my daughter's school and overheard one girl saying they were the best muffins she had ever eaten. These muffins have made me a legend, and I make sure to never tell anyone how easy they really are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This cake is definitely a keeper! I didn't have buttermilk in the house, so I substituted what I had in the fridge, fat free sour cream. The cake turned out great anyway; it was moist, light and extremely flavorful. The delicious frosting created a perfect balance. Thanks, Ms. Carnes, for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JessieJay1979
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
All I can say is BEST cake I ever made I wish I could have gave it ten stars that's how good it was! Really simple directions and worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Good but pretty heavy. I made it as a trial for my son's upcoming birthday. I will try another recipe since I don't think the kids will go for such a dense cake. Very moist though. I added chocolate chips. I think mini chocolate chips would have worked better with the texture, or maybe no chips (first time I have ever said that about banana cake). I made 2 cakes with this - one 8 inch and one 6x8 inch. I too had to bake it much longer - 1 hr 20 min, and I thought with2 smaller cakes it should have taken less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe even though it seemed odd, I did have to cook it about 20 minutes longer but it was amazing. Nice and chewy but I didn't find it heavy at all like other reviewers had said. This will definitely be my go to banana cake recipe. Instead of the cream cheese frosting I made a peanut butter frosting, awesome combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is absolutely the best cake ever. I have made it twice with great results both times. The time spent in the freezer is well spent. I wonder whether this method could be adapted to another cake recipe such as a chocolate cake to make it equally moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States