Banana Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I was concerned about compromising the food in my freezer by sticking something so hot inside, but since I have a small empty freezer in garage, I did follow this step. Only change was evaporated milk with 1 1/2 tsp lemon juice instead of buttermilk (may be why dense, but I like cake that way.) Received many compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Just made this cake and followed the directions (though I was leary)! FANTASTIC! i can't believe that I'll be replacing my mothers recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I gotta take back some of the stuff I said before... after being in the refrigerator for the whole night and using lots of cake cream on it, it became better...still not my favorite cake,however I do not loathe it like last night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This is simply the best banana cake and frosting recipe I have ever made! I follow the recipe exactly (using real butter and real vanilla) and my only addition is one and quarter cups of chopped walnuts. I start checking the cake at 55 min and every 5 minutes until it is done (for my oven that is about 1 hour and 10 min). I have made it for holidays and birthdays and everyone who has tried it has raved about it. Thank you to Cindy, this recipe is a keeper to be shared and passed down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was a wonderful, moist cake! I followed the directions exactly for the cake (except adding vinegar to skim milk to make buttermilk, since I did not have any on-hand), and it took me 1 hour and 35 minutes to bake. My kids don't like cream cheese frosting, so I used the recipe for caramel frosting found in the reviews. I personally loved it, but the caramel frosting together with the cake was much too sweet for the rest of my family. Looking at the amt of confectioner's sugar called for in the cream cheese frosting, I would imagine we would have the same issue. I will make this again, but try to get back on the sweetness somehow. Also - using margarine vs. real butter did not impact this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This is definitely going to be my standard banana cake recipe. The cake came out perfectly moist and delicious. I sprinkled about 1/2 cup mixture of brown sugar, cinnamon, cocoa powder between two layers of cake batter. Next time i will add 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 cup nuts too to this middle layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umme Aimen Kazmi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Loved this cake! I had three over ripened bananas to use up and this was the perfect recipe for them. Such simple ingredients! I did bake my cake an extra 15 min. The center was still mushy at just an hour. Also, I just couldn't bring myself to put that hot cake in my freezer with all my frozen stuff. But after it cooled off I kept it in the fridge. I love cold cake! I frosted it with pre-made cream cheese frosting because I guess I got lazy! The family loved it, so that makes it a keeper in my book :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I loved this recipe. It turns out super moist. The kids liked it better without the frosting...easier for me. One less thing to whip up. I have made this 3 times now and every time it turns our AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
YUM!!!!!!!! It did take about 10 min more in my electric oven, but it turned out great. I used a loaf pan and a 9" square pan instead of 9x13. I had one at home for the family (it's almost all gone and was eaten hot). The other was taken to work following the directions through to the freezer. The cakes were moist, light goodness. It was well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This really truly is an excellent Banana Cake. I doubled the recipe and baked it for my daughters 14th Birthday. I think there were 28 people and I had nothing but raved reviews. The only thing that is a concern for me is that I recently completed a food safe course where we were instructed to NEVER put anything hot into the freezer as it lowers the temperature of the entire freezer, resulting in improper cooling of the freezer contents. We learned that 30 percent of Foodborne illness outbreaks are due to improper cooling. My only suggestion then would be to place the cake in a cooler (or even a sink filled with bagged ice or ice packs covered with a towel so nothing leaks into the cake. I would then be able to give this recipe 100 percent just like it deserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States