Banana Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CuriouslyChaotic
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Love love love this recipe. I've made it twice. The first time exactly as suggested, but yesterday I made it again a bit tweaked. I didn't have quite enough bananas and I ran out of buttermilk. I ended up using heavy cream instead, then added an extra 1/4 cup cream. It was amazing the first time, and a solid good the second. I say, stick to the recipe but either way it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuriouslyChaotic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This cake is delicious and super moist. Next time I will start with 2.5 cups of sugar for the icing and taste. The icing was a little too sweet for us and I will only put a thin layer of icing on the cake. This cake is so good, that it doesn't need a lot. 4 medium bananas equaled 1.5 cups for me. I cooked it for 80 minutes in a metal pan. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
made it just as it is, but doubled the vanilla and cut the sugar just a little, added crushed pecans and walnuts. absolutely divine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
My family loves this cake. I've made it a handful of times following the recipe exactly. I do find it needs approximately 20 minutes more cooking time in my oven. I frost it with Allrecipes - Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting and it is divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyKidsThinkICanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RTP
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Absolutely delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
One of the best cakes I have ever eaten and my family agreed. We are a family that loves deserts and this was loved by all. I was short on time so I increased the temp to 325 and baked about 40 min, the cake was so moist I can't imagine it being any better! The icing was delicious and made the exact amount to frost the cake. I had 3 large bananas, don't know if that is more or less than 1.5 cups but it was perfect. Can't wait to make this cake over the holidays for my son who loves anything banana. I can't imagine anybody not loving this cake. There were several comments about this being more like banana bread, keep in mind it would be impossible to make a light airy cake using fresh bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Finally a recipe that gets it right on the first try. Make that the sixth try. No changes. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
AMAZING! The only thing I changed the second time was that I put less frosting because the cake itself is so unbelievably good. This is our favorite cake, and my husband bakes amazing cakes. Thank you so much for sharing Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Thibodeaux McBride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I have made this twice and EACH time has been a big hit. Definitely will be a go to recipe for desserts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Delicious....very good recipe.Tried the very low temperature, was nervous (looking at d glass oven door how many times) but it works... Did all the recipe instructions, just perfect thanks a lot...will do it again definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States