Banana Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I have to say wow! fixed exactly per zany directions. I had to try the strange baking/freezing method and I learned why this is called banana cake and not bread; it is sooo moist and fluffy it sticks to the knife and is tricky to serve without falling apart. This will be excellent served post meal with coffee. I mashed the bananas until I had the 1 1/2 cups and it has the most wonderful banana flavor without any soggy spots. It needed to bake an extra 15 minutes in my notoriously slow oven to pass the toothpick test. I made the frosting with only 3C of powdered sugar because that's all I had. it turned very light and creamy, but it tasted so sweet I served it separate, but the flavor blended so well with the cake it was perfect and everyone loved it. I am blessed with some finnicky eaters without a single sweet tooth among them, but everyone RAVED about this! Cindy thank you so much for sharing this excellent recipe with unique cooking method, it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Daddio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Wow, dense and delicious! I cut the recipe in half and baked in a 7x11 glass dish. I did have to bake it about 10 extra minutes. Who'd of thunk about putting a hot cake in the freezer? It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I thought this cakes was amazing! For the caked I used 9X9 round pans as I wanted a dessert that could be presented on a pedestal cake platter. I baked as directed in the low temp oven and placed in freezer directly after baking. I didn't want a cream chesse frosting so I mad a Bavarian Creme frosting to place between the layers and on the top of the cake. Absolutely delicious and my husband has requested that I please make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
We all loved this cake. I did make it with Splenda & no frosting. I put toasted coconut & walnuts into the batter. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Fantastic cake! Made this last night for a get together and it was a hit! I wasn't too sure that it was completely baked in the center, and had to bake it much longer than the 1hr bake time. I kept on checking it until toothpick came out clean and put it directly in freezer as instructed. Halved the icing and it was moist, and delicious. Next time I'll use the convection bake feature on my oven and reduce the sugar a bit. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I made this cake today at the cottage because I was using a propane stove I increased the temperature for the last 15 minutes to 300 and it turned out great. Frosted it after taking from freezer had a piece and it was great. We all just Love Love Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josh Charlton Cornelius
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was one of the best recipes for Banana Nut Cake. It gets an instant 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh Charlton Cornelius

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This is absolutely the very best cake I have ever made. I followed the cake to a tee.. This is my go to recipe for sure.Some banana cakes I have made are to moist and banana like. This cake is moist, tender and just delicious! 5 stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I had to try it because the baking instructions seemed so crazy. It was fantastic! It turned out perfectly! A favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This cake is very good, very rich. If I make this again I will forego the frosting. The cake is dense enough to make a nice banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States