Banana Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is by far the best cake I've ever had, followed to a T! Perfection, did question the cooking time but my oven sometimes doesn't cook right so mine actually took a little over 3 hrs to cook but came out moist and delicious, this is a keeper and my entire families favorite cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Sanden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I didn't have time to bake it for an hour, then freeze for 45 minutes so I just baked it at 350 for 35 minutes and we ate it warm out of the oven.It was excellent. I'll try it following the recipe next time but this recipe is great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I tried this recipe and did find that it was unusual to be baking it at such a low temperature. I did that but had to add on an extra 45 minutes because it just wouldn't get done. I was too scared to put it in the freezer because I thought my dish may shatter ( I have Pyrex too), so I let it cool a bit and sliced a piece to see how it came out. It was very good and surprisingly moist. I put it in the refrigerator and the next day, it still was very good and moist. My true test is my son; if he likes it then I know I did it right. He liked it and said it was not dry. Kudos Cindy for an excellent recipe! I did one thing different; I added a bit of nutmeg and ground cloves (1/2 tsp each)which spiced it up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Best banana cake ever!!! I will definitely make this again. Followed the recipe exactly - which I usually don't do. Would not change a thing. Very moist and banana flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madalynsmom
Home Town: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, including baking at 275 degrees. The middle of the cake was still runny after one hour, so I ended up leaving it in for a total of almost two hours. The banana flavor was very good. The cake is a little dense, but did not taste like banana bread to me. I used a 9X13 pan as prescribed, which caused the cake to be quite thick (about 2.75 inches tall). I used a metal Circulon cake pan and wonder how the composition of the pan (such as metal versus Pyrex) affects the cook time and final product. Most reviewers have not commented on this detail. My husband, who is not a big fan of bananas but loves sugar and sweets, liked the cake but would have preferred a shorter, sweeter cake with more icing (I only used 1/2 of the icing that this recipe made). I would definitely make this again. Next time I will probably make cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This was a good cake. You do need to freeze it immediately to keep the moisture in the cake. I made into cupcakes, which were really nice. I didn't use this frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This cake is wonderful, very yummy, moist, and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except that I had to cook it for about 20 more minutes for it to be cooked thoroughly. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Delicious cake! Doesn't dry out in the pan. Putting it in the freezer seemed very weird but I did it anyways and it made a very moist cake. Banana cakes are sometimes heavy. This was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This is by far the best banana bread/cake recipe I have made. The cake was super moist I substituted butter with margarine and was still delicious. This recipe is a keeper. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I made this recipe years ago then lost it.... can't wait to make it again! thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States