Banana Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was the best cake and I will make again. I did not put a hot cake from the oven into my freezer I thought it was a joke to damage my refrigerator. Someone (Janna Rod) made a comment its just like banana bread heavy, nowhere near if you follow the cook temp 275. I was reluctant but ended up letting it stay in until the top looked done (10to15 extra minutes). it didn't turn out heavy it wasn't too sweet. Best ever didn't have that intense banana taste. Moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I remember banana cakes being popular when I was a kid and haven't had one in AGES. Was looking for something to do with browning bananas other than banana bread and this came up. What GREAT memories it brought back! This cake was wonderfully moist, not too sweet, and the frosting was the perfect match to the cake. Would not change a thing. By the way, this cake freezes BEAUTIFULLY. If you have leftover bananas that will be tossed soon, make up this cake, and when it is cool, wrap it tightly in plastic wrap and freeze. Frost it when thawed (or even almost thawed - cold cake will preserve the cream cheese frosting a bit). I made the cake in a 10" round pan, and froze the round cake. When I had last minute guests coming, I pulled it out, let it on a footed cake plate and frosted it with the icing in the recipe. It looked lovely, and the flavor was rich without being over-the-top, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Would love to understand the chemistry of low cooking temp and placing the cake in the freezer but it works! Fabulous cake-moist and tasty. Put a little cinnamon into the frosting. Unlike any other banana cake I have ever tasted. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Best cake I have ever had..........especially as my son made it for the family! Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Just like grandma's...Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peeper burger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I made this cake for my husband's office and it got rave reviews! Follow the directions as crazy as they may seem. Also, the icing makes a lot but don't hesitate to put it all on. It's such a nice balance with the cake. I sprinkled the top with walnuts. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caseyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time last night, and I have never had more ooooohs and aahhhhs over a cake before. The unusual baking method was worth every minute---I had to cook it an extra twenty minutes in my Miele oven. I bravely put the hot cake into the freezer nestled on a tray and padded with a folded dish towel underneath, and I closed the door and hoped for the best. Forty-five minutes later, I took the cake out, and it was perfect and my other frozen goods had remained frozen since I cleared an area around the cake. I followed the directions for the frosting, but I cut down on the amount of confectioner's sugar so it would have a very creamy consistency. When I served it to our guests, I put a bowl of finely chopped pecans on the table for anyone who wanted to add a crunch to the topping. I ended up giving extra pieces to my guests to take home, and I know this will be one of those cakes that I take to parties or give to friends who are home bound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Banana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
total yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Excellent. I have made this many times and it always turns out perfectly and receives many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
An easy cake to make and oh so moist and delicious! A definite keeper. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States