Banana Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I thought the recipe itself was good but the baking was a little off. I used 1 baking pan instead of two and the batter was dripping off the pan and into the oven. I had to adjust the temperature to 325 so it would bake faster because it wasn't done in an hour. I'll might make it again but I would definately use two baking pans instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I changed the recipe alittle by cutting the sugar down to 1 cup and rather then using buttermilk which I didn't have I used plain greek yogurt...came out beautifully everyone loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
The cooking time in this recipe is not correct! I followed the recipe as it says, and baked the cake for an hour at 275 degrees, and it wasn't even close to done. Still liquid in the middle. I upped the oven's temperature to 350 degrees and baked it for another 20 minutes, and the cake came out moist and delicious. I would still recommend the recipe, but not the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
OMG! The best banana cake ever! read all the reviews and didn't change a thing except I baked in two 9in rounds, so I had 1 cakes to take to girls night, and 1 to keep at home :) Agree with other reviewer that placing in freezer right out of oven is necessary for this cake to come out soooo moist. Do not agree with the reviewer that said it tastes like banana bread. It is a definite cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I used this recipe to make my daughter's wedding cake. The cake baked perfectly at the 275 degree temp. I used an oven thermometer to make sure the temp. was accurate. It didn't have an overly browned bottom as some banana cake recipes that I've tried. It was nice and level on top, without a dome. I believe the 275 degree baking temp. was the key to my success. I extended the baking time by about 15-20 minutes. I doubled the recipe and got two 9" layers, two 6" layers and one 10" layer. I cooled the layers in the pans for ten minutes then dumped them out of the pans and put them in the freezer according to the directions. This has to be the best banana cake we have ever tasted. Very moist.Everyone loved it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Just tried it and it tastes amazing!!! Just a note on the cook time...in my oven it took about 1 hour and 45 minutes to cook all the way through before putting it in the freezer! But it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I love all types of cake but I just couldn't eat this. I followed the instructions to the letter and the result was a heavy stodgy brick of cake. I also have a sweet tooth but this is ridiculously sweeet. It contains far too much sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Mine came out very heavy. Can anyone tell me what I may have done wrong. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made this cake for the first time today. I didn't know what to expect with the unusual baking directions, but I followed the recipe exactly. The baking time in my oven was exactly one hour as stated, toothpick came out clean and then exactly 45 minutes in freezer. I also removed it from the pan with no problem after removing it from the freezer. This is amazing cake! It is moist, flavorful, and has a wonderful texture and crumb. There are no spices in this cake like banana bread, it has a nice buttery banana flavor, clean and natural! I made the frosting but didn't frost the entire cake as some in the household don't like frosting. I love this cake just as much without frosting, just a slight dusting of confectioners sugar for appearance is all you need. Excellent Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaskedMan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
VERY GOOD, FOLLOW RECIPE TO THE LETTER AND YOU CANT GO WRONG. VERY MOIST, EVERYONE LOVED IT. THANK YOU SO MUCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States