Banana Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
All I have to say is AMAZING!!!! Didn't change a thing followed it to the "T"... You'll be sorry if you don't try this recipe.... Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: El Centro, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Delicious! The only modification I made was to slightly reduce sugar to 2 cups. Mine needed a bit more time in oven, about an hour I think until the toothpick test showed it done. I removed from oven straight to freezer as instructed. The cake turned out super moist, often when a cake is moist, it has an underdone texture, but not here, just moist and delicious! I did not frost, as we don't like overly sweet things. I felt it didn't need frosting anyway. I opted to store in fridge because of its moistness, and honesty, I like it chilled even better! Thank you for this recipe submitter Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This is crazy delicious!!! Made 2 on the first try so I could take one to work. Needless to say, the second cake never made it anywhere. We didn't even want to frost it we ate it so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This cake is Excellent EXACTLY as directed!!! I have made it multiple times and everyone is wowed by it EVERY time! I like walnuts, so I do like to stir a cup of walnuts into the cake batter...and I sprinkle walnuts on top of the icing. This is a great recipe for using those ripe bananas you through in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
My family thought the cake was good but the frosting was too rich and overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This makes a great cake! High and moist. The only change I made was to add an additional teaspoon of vanilla. Followed the directions as given and voila! wonderful,flavorful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Really simple and good. Followed a few reviews and subed 1 cup Brown sugar. Very happy with this recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Very moist banana cake! I used two bananas. I left it in the oven for about an hour and ten minutes. I covered it with foil and put it in the freezer for 45 minutes. There were definitely parts of the cake that were still warm after the 45 minutes, but I really wanted to go to bed so I threw it in the fridge for the rest of the night and it turned out great. I did not get a chance to make frosting for this cake but it was really great without the frosting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This cake is all it's cracked up to be. I followed the cake recipe with just a few adjustments: (1) for half of the flour, I substituted whole wheat flour; (2) for half of the sugar, I substituted brown sugar; (3) I used white vinegar mixed with milk instead of buttermilk (1 1/2 T vinegar, plus milk to equal 1 1/2 cups, then let sit for 10 minutes); and (4) I added 1 tsp orange zest. Following the baking instructions, it took 75 minutes for the toothpick to come out clean. The freezer thing felt weird, but I did it, and I wouldn't do it any other way in the future. The cake was so moist and delicious! There is no doubt in my mind that I will make this again. My husband and I both loved it! Since I was only doing a 13x9 cake, I halved the frosting recipe, and that was just the right amount. I'd only do the full frosting amount if I were doing a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Wonderful Cake! I used less sugar, otherwise followed the recipe exactly and it is very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States