Banana Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Prepared gluten free and modified for high altitude. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. It was SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This is one of the most amazing cakes I have made! It is super moist, light and fluffy! I followed the cake recipe with no changes. However, I did omit the cream cheese frosting; found the cake to be sweet enough without it. I did dust the top of the cake with confectioners' sugar, more for presentation. This is a recipe I will make for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I left out the lemon juice and used store bought cream cheese frosting. Holy cow! Best. Cake. Everrrr. Followed everything else to a T. Yes I am pretty sure it's the best cake I've ever made. Not that I am the Cake Queen or anything, but I've made my fair share in nearly fifty years on the planet. Bf can't keep his hands off it. Don't know how anyone is ending up with something that resembles Banana Bread? Looks and tastes nothing like it. This little lovely is so lite and fluffy and CAKE like, there is no chance of mistaking it for banana bread which is dark and heavy and dense. I did have to bake it for about 15 extra minutes. So worth very minute!!! Yummmm Oh and I used four medium ripe bananas. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannonhb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
made as stated in recipe, excellent recipe. didn't cool in freezer didn't think it was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I was concerned about compromising the food in my freezer by sticking something so hot inside, but since I have a small empty freezer in garage, I did follow this step. Only change was evaporated milk with 1 1/2 tsp lemon juice instead of buttermilk (may be why dense, but I like cake that way.) Received many compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Just made this cake and followed the directions (though I was leary)! FANTASTIC! i can't believe that I'll be replacing my mothers recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I gotta take back some of the stuff I said before... after being in the refrigerator for the whole night and using lots of cake cream on it, it became better...still not my favorite cake,however I do not loathe it like last night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This is simply the best banana cake and frosting recipe I have ever made! I follow the recipe exactly (using real butter and real vanilla) and my only addition is one and quarter cups of chopped walnuts. I start checking the cake at 55 min and every 5 minutes until it is done (for my oven that is about 1 hour and 10 min). I have made it for holidays and birthdays and everyone who has tried it has raved about it. Thank you to Cindy, this recipe is a keeper to be shared and passed down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was a wonderful, moist cake! I followed the directions exactly for the cake (except adding vinegar to skim milk to make buttermilk, since I did not have any on-hand), and it took me 1 hour and 35 minutes to bake. My kids don't like cream cheese frosting, so I used the recipe for caramel frosting found in the reviews. I personally loved it, but the caramel frosting together with the cake was much too sweet for the rest of my family. Looking at the amt of confectioner's sugar called for in the cream cheese frosting, I would imagine we would have the same issue. I will make this again, but try to get back on the sweetness somehow. Also - using margarine vs. real butter did not impact this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This is definitely going to be my standard banana cake recipe. The cake came out perfectly moist and delicious. I sprinkled about 1/2 cup mixture of brown sugar, cinnamon, cocoa powder between two layers of cake batter. Next time i will add 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 cup nuts too to this middle layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umme Aimen Kazmi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States