Banana Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I made exactly according to recipe. The middle of the cake turned out excellent, but the edges crisped up the outer edges of the cake are more banana bread texture than cake. I did bake at 275 for 1 hour, and froze for 45 minutes. I was a little disappointed the people with edge pieces didn't really get "cake". I did not use this frosting, I topped with peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Photo by Kai and Kayden's Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This cake is so good. I love making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This recipe was fantastic! The cake turned out lusciously moist and was nice and fluffy. Great flavor too. I'm not sure why some have given bad reviews. I didn't find my cake to be too dense or bread-like as some have commented. I even made mine at high altitude with no alterations to the recipe. Two thumbs up from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aurelie M Davies
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Easy to make, fun delicious. It did take a bit longer. An hour and 45 minutes at 275 but it's all moist, and it had to be about an hour and 20 in the freezer. I added lemon extract and I used four packets of cream cheese so I could make a filling in the middle after I cut it. And I added chopped walnuts. The edges are a bit crunchy but good and it's really good. I probably would've added more banana for my preference otherwise I'm very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurelie M Davies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Brilliant recipe very important to put in freezer to keep moisture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This cake is amazing! My family was skeptical at first but after tasting it they went back for more and more! I used milk and 1.5 TBSP of vinegar instead of the buttermilk. I did cut down to about 2 1/2 cups of sugar in the icing and it tasted just right. I am going to try this recipe with a different fruit and hopefully it will be just as moist and delicious! Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Almost 2 and a half hours of baking in the oven and its still in there, not quite ready in the middle, but golden everywhere else! Wish I'd read the reviews first so that I could have cooked at higher temperature. Could it be because I'm using gas rather than electic... Nevertheless, looking forward to tasting the finished product. It's 11pm now but I can't give up because I promised the kids they would have it when they wake for breakfast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Absolutely delicious! I followed the directions exactly and baked as recommended then placed in freezer. Very moist and has tons of flavor. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracylee24
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Well, we didn't have freezer space, but we did have space on the deck and this is winter in Minnesota. Lovely cake - followed the directions as written - thank you Cindy Carnes. You gave us a five star recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I am not a baker and when I do some things dont work out like they do. I do have to say the recipe was easy to follow and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States