Banana Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is my first recipe from allrecipes.com and I am glad I used this one. It was GOOOOOOOOD. Also, I was kind of scared of using blacken/really ripped bananas so I used banana I bought the same day at the grocery store. The only issue was that I had to struggle a bit more to puree them and I added to table spoon of brown sugar to the bananas to give them a similar sweetness to rip/blackened one. I had 9 banana so I adjusted the flour in proportion. It gave me an 8X8 cake as well as 4X7 cake. Gave one to my friend, she LOVED it. The best thing is that I personally found the cake to taste better the day after, once in room temperature and to have a better consistency. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Hugo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was delicious. I had no sour cream, so I substituted with some fat free half and half. I also made these in cupcake form and stuffed with cream cheese icing. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
i love this recipe! just like what my mother used to make when i was a kid. i did everything like what it says in the recipe and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mochafappo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is a wonderful moist cake. I followed the directions exactly and we loved it. Lighter than a banana bread and yet more dense than a traditional cake. I will continue to make it exactly as the recipe indicates, it was just the right sweetness for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Yes, quite moist. I did add about a half cup of chopped walnuts and 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. My family and I really enjoyed this, me especially with hot coffee. This took 45 minutes to bake, covered halfway through with foil. NOTE: Little sweet. Next time, I'd cut the sugar in half and it'd be perfect. Let the sour cream/butter come through a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!!! I was hoping to find a great receipe for bananna cake! I wanted to duplicate this cake to taste like one I found in a bakery in Costa Rica....well...I FOUND IT! Thanks so very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I made this delicious cake for my husband's birthday. This was my first banana cake and it turned out perfect. I took the advice of previous reviewers and used 3 bananas. I also frosted it with cream cheese frosting and topped with walnuts. Everyone loved it. It was very moist and had a great flavour. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Wonderful recipe. Easy to make and very moist and scrummy! I tried a little when it was fresh out of the oven (couldn't wait!)and the moment I sliced through the cake I knew it's a success. The texture is soft but not soggy and crumbs tender. I had to help myself to a second piece! As I did not have sour cream or plain yogurt at hand, I substituted with fat-free strawberry yogurt. The cake turned out to have a hint of berry-ness which is a lovely touch. I used a little less than 1 cup of sugar to compensate for the sugar in the yogurt (plus ripe bananas are loaded with sugar!).I also sprinkled some cinnamon but not too much as you don't want to over-powder the banana flavour. Cake flour is essential to ensure light and tender texture. (This is a banana cake not banana bread, which is denser)I used a wooden spoon to mix in the bananas and flour. It's important not to overmix the batter. Be sure to use very ripe bananas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Wonderful! Fantastic! Very Very moist indeed. I didn't have cake flour, so I used all-purpose and added 3 tbsp cornstarch. I substituted 1/4 cup plain yogurt instead of sour cream (didn't have that either), and instead of the 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, I used 1 tablespoon. SOOOO YUMMY!!! This is a recipe I will use over and over again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veeny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was pretty good. Much more like bread than cake. Will keep looking for a more cake-like banana cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States