Banana Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Amazing! Other than substituting yogurt for the sour cream, I used the recipe as written, and it turned out delicious! Highly recomended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Great cake. Instead of sour cream, I added same amount of milk. That could be why my cake took at least 15 more mins to back. The outside was crusty and brown while the instead was still soft. Overall however, it's a great cake. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I just made a double batch - getting rid of some pretty mushy bananas. It really is a good cake recipe. Almost like a loaf recipe more than a cake and really simple to make. I used regular All purpose flour and just reduced the amount of it by 6 tablespoons (3 per batch) instead of the cake flour. I had to cook it an extra 10 minutes maybe. It came out a dark brown with a crispy/harder top - which I love. The double mix made 2 x 8 inch round cakes plus 2 x small loaves. I will make this one again - if I remember where to find the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Great recipe, very easy. I took the reviewers' suggestions and decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup. Also, we can't get sour cream here so I used milk and added 1 T of vinegar. Also reduced the soda to 1/2 tsp and added 1 tsp baking powder. The cake came out nice and light, and our Chinese friends loved it. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
The cake came out perfect. Moist but not dense. I did not mash and measure the banana but only threw in two very riped into the cake mixer. No problem at all. However, I used two 5x9 bread pan as I did not have one 9x9. It was a mistake because the cakes did not rise a lot so they were rather flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Great, simple recipe. Changed to 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar. Wonderful snack recipe. No icing needed. Baked in 9 x 11 pan for 27 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nonavr66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
The banana cake was great! My family finishes the cake within a day. I followed the reviews and cut down the amt of sugar to 3/4 cup. The cake was not too sweet and tasted just right and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I brought this to class and they ate it all up, It was really moist. I cut the sugar to a little less than one cup, and added cinnamon and nutmeg as well. I would love a nice frosting to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
this is beautiful. i made i last night - dead easy to make, and brought it into work this morning. It's all been eaten! thank you for a fab recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This was fantastic! Like the others said. don't forget about the vanilla. I did a low-fat version. I used applesauce and a little bit of Promise butter substitute. Also half and half of brown & white sugar. You don't even need frosting for this- it is so good. Even my husband who doesn't care for bananas really liked this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States