Banana Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Ugh. my banana cake came out looking good, but smelled really strange upon closer inspection. Seems to taste alright, but I've no idea why but it smells terrible despite the fact it's a simple recipe: flour, eggs, banana, rising agent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
tastes like banana bread. not what I was expecting but still tasted ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Was yummy...although it was more like bananna bread for me. But that is ok, since I LOVE bananna bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RachelD
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Delicious! Just the right size too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Illesheim, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This cake was very easy to make and is very densley delicious. I made this cake with 1/2 whole wheat gram flour, too. I also added a little more banana. I think it would be good with pecans or walnuts added to it, too. Make sure you add the vanilla with the bananas as this step is left off of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Easterbrook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I made this as cupcakes for a first birthday party and it was GREAT! I tried it the weekend before and made some changes for the final batch. After creaming the butter and sugar and adding the eggs, I stopped using the mixer and only beat it by hand. I did use cake flour and that made a huge difference and I guesstimated that 2 bananas would be 1 cup. It was just awesome -the cakes were light and fluffy and full of flavor. I topped it with the whipped cream cheese frosting also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb. B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I added more banana, cinnamon, a pinch of salt, 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 white sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder to make up for the heaviness of the brown sugar and the extra bananas; sprinkled top with walnuts. WE LOVE IT!! I drizzle ice it with the vanilla glaze from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthie0404

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This cake was easy to make and it tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I made cake samples for a person that I am going to do their wedding cake, so I only use half of this recipe. They loved it! The moist texture and the flavor were wonderful! I did tweak the recipe with a little more banana and brown sugar, but it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wren Song Heart
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
SUPER MOIST! I doubled this recipe, used nonfat organic yogurt in place of the sour cream, added a pinch of cinnamon. I ran out of white sugar and used brown sugar for the last 1/2 cup needed. Doubled the recipe called for 2 cups sugar. Increased bananas to 2.5 cups of mashed banana. Added raw sunflower seeds and organic rasians. Baked in a Huge cast iron skillet for one hour-it tested done with a knife. The oven had been preheated to 375 and then lowered to 350 before I place the batter in to bake. It came out Super Moist and it has that heavy comfort food sensation when it hits bottom. Filling as well as having some nutritional value. Next recipe I am adding 1/2 Cup ground flax and possible lowering the sugar. Then experiment each time with extra fruit, nuts, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wren Song Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garrett, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States