Banana Cake IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I tried this recipe and it was just okay. It did take 30 minutes to bake it and it was easy to put together. It was a little too dry for my taste. I also used a smaller pan so that it wouldn't be so flat. I frosted it with cream cheese frosting and cut it into squares. I served it at work and no one complained. So it passed the test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I snazzed up the recipe a bit with the addition of 1 cup of chocolate chips. The cake was good and moist but the volume of the cake was less than adequate. I would have preferred a taller cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
is cake was wonderful! I added two more bananas, cutting them into large chunks and mixing them in at the end. Some cinnamon and nutmeg to the mashed bananas is nice too. It also taste great with a white chocolate or vanilla frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This was almost a 5 star, but was not quite as moist as we like. I did frost it and it was very good. It worked out well as most of the other recipes called for buttermilk and we didn't have any in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Very yummy! I doubled the recipe and made a second cake with chocolate chips :) Thanks Caroline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I'm sorry but I have to disagree with the others. While it's not bad, it's definitely not the best I've had. It had little banana flavor but it did have a bitter flavor. After looking at other banana cake recipes, I noticed this recipe, on average, called for two to three times more baking powder than the others. I'll stick to my Fanny Farmer recipe which is the best I've tried so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
WOW!!!!! Amazingly delicious coming out of the oven! A new personal favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Finally! A REAL Banana Cake recipe!! I needed a recipe that did not call for buttermilk since I do not use it in anything else. I also wanted a recipe that did not have any strange ingrediants, preferably without the need for frosting AND a recipe for a 9X13 pan. I narrowed my search to this and for once my banana cake came out perfect!! This is the real thing better than store bought (the whole purpose!). Easy to prepare and only 30 mins! to bake! Most take an hour. VERY light and full of flavor. The cake is about 1 1/2" high. I even registered to allrecipes just so I can rate this recipe! Thanks CAROLINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
This banana cake is delicious; very moist and tender. A favorite of my kid's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUSHPUPPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
It's a good and easy to make banana cake. We all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States