Banana Cake IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Finally! A REAL Banana Cake recipe!! I needed a recipe that did not call for buttermilk since I do not use it in anything else. I also wanted a recipe that did not have any strange ingrediants, preferably without the need for frosting AND a recipe for a 9X13 pan. I narrowed my search to this and for once my banana cake came out perfect!! This is the real thing better than store bought (the whole purpose!). Easy to prepare and only 30 mins! to bake! Most take an hour. VERY light and full of flavor. The cake is about 1 1/2" high. I even registered to allrecipes just so I can rate this recipe! Thanks CAROLINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
WOW! This cake is delicious! I followed the recipe as is, just tweaked it, instead of using shortening, I used butter (no shortening in stock), added 1 more banana (since I had 4 really riped ones), and added probably 1 teaspoon of pumpkin spice. Baked it at 375 for 30 minutes, DELICIOUS!!!! Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
is cake was wonderful! I added two more bananas, cutting them into large chunks and mixing them in at the end. Some cinnamon and nutmeg to the mashed bananas is nice too. It also taste great with a white chocolate or vanilla frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
Delicious. But I had to use a square pan and not the 9x13. Using the 9x13 I got a cake that was maybe an inch high. I like them higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I decided to make this recipe into muffins instead of cake. I made three small substitutions; I used regular AP flour instead of cake flour (I did sift it with the other dry ingredients and when I googled it, I did what was suggested and subtract three tablespoons for each cup of flour which really brought the flour amount to just under two cups), I used butter instead of shortening and I cut the sugar back to a scant 3/4 cup as my bananas were REALLY ripe. The batter looked as it should for muffins, it baked up nicely and it tasted as banana bread should but these did turn out dry. If I make these again, I'd cut back the flour a quarter cup or so or add an additional banana. 350 for 20 minutes was just right for me. I got 12 large muffins out of one recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Delicious moist cake. Made in a bundt pan and cooked for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This recipe was excellent. Exactly what I was looking for. My banana's weren't even ripe, but it is a perfect flavor. If you are looking for banana cake and not bread, this recipe is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was amazing!! was looking for a banana cake not using brown sugar because i ran out...and i ran into this GEM!! i will always use this!! Its moist and went too quickly in my home of picky eaters! I used extra vanilla and used margarine instead of the shorting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I made this cake because of the great reviews that it got and they were all right. this cake was delicious and easy except I put it in a 9x13 pan and there wasnt enough batter for it to rise properly so next time I will use a smaller pan. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSMOM23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Nope! I will note make this one again. I took a second look at all the ingredients and thought there was something missing. No milk? No buttermilk? Nothing with a liquid consistancy to it? But I trusted the reviews and thought I would give it a chance. When I added the banana's the dough looked more like cake batter, so I thought I was OK. My cake looked just like the picture. I made a glaze for it which my husband had preferred I had not. My whole family thought the cake was why too dry. We all took out the gallon of milk and each had a big glass to finish off our piece. This cake is dry, dry, dry.. Just want to warn everyone before they make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjsandy2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States