Banana Cake IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I liked this recipe although it wasn't as sweet as others might have liked so i would suggest adding more sugar or some maple syrup maybe even a sweet icing/frosting. My family loved it! Even though it wasn't sweet, it tasted very fresh and the bannana flavor came right thru. Very good even as a brunch or coffee pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starlet587

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
it was wonderful.. add a bit of cocoa too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Delicious! After reading other reviews,I increased the size (18 servings instead of 12) and it made a nice big 9x13 cake.I also decreased the amt of sugar a bit, and increased the bananas so it wouldn't be dry. Substituted unsalted butter for the shortening and added toasted pecans. I made a cream cheese frosting, but the cake was so moist and tasty that it would have been great without any frosting. I will definitely make this my go-to banana cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Followed the recipe as above, but my bananas were small so I used 4. Perfect! I cooked it in a Bundt pan and it was moist and delicious. No need for frosting, icing or spreading with butter. I recommend it to anyone. Next time, I will make into muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Was easy, but I agree with others it could use another banana. I will bake again but will use Canola Oil instead of shorteing.it was slightly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debora C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
A little heavy. Not very moist. No big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was amazing!! was looking for a banana cake not using brown sugar because i ran out...and i ran into this GEM!! i will always use this!! Its moist and went too quickly in my home of picky eaters! I used extra vanilla and used margarine instead of the shorting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Nope! I will note make this one again. I took a second look at all the ingredients and thought there was something missing. No milk? No buttermilk? Nothing with a liquid consistancy to it? But I trusted the reviews and thought I would give it a chance. When I added the banana's the dough looked more like cake batter, so I thought I was OK. My cake looked just like the picture. I made a glaze for it which my husband had preferred I had not. My whole family thought the cake was why too dry. We all took out the gallon of milk and each had a big glass to finish off our piece. This cake is dry, dry, dry.. Just want to warn everyone before they make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjsandy2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I decided to make this recipe into muffins instead of cake. I made three small substitutions; I used regular AP flour instead of cake flour (I did sift it with the other dry ingredients and when I googled it, I did what was suggested and subtract three tablespoons for each cup of flour which really brought the flour amount to just under two cups), I used butter instead of shortening and I cut the sugar back to a scant 3/4 cup as my bananas were REALLY ripe. The batter looked as it should for muffins, it baked up nicely and it tasted as banana bread should but these did turn out dry. If I make these again, I'd cut back the flour a quarter cup or so or add an additional banana. 350 for 20 minutes was just right for me. I got 12 large muffins out of one recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I made this cake as is the first time ... Excellent! The second time I altered it based on the reviews and used a Bundt cake pan (baked for 35 mins.), butter instead of shortening, and a cup of chocolate chips ... Decadent! By the way, I didn't have cake flour so I put 2 Tblsp cornstarch in each measuring cup before filling the remaining cup with flour ... 1/2 Tblsp for the 1/4 cup. What a versatile cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States