Banana Cake IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I tried this recipe twice. The first time I was making a two tone cupcake: banana in the middle and chocolate around the outside. The batter was too thick, so I thinned it with water. The cupcakes tasted great. The second time I made it as directed, no extra water. It was dry but it still tasted good. I think it is really good if you add more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
VERY GOOD! Made it for my husband's birthday and frosted it with cool whip and sliced strawberries and bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I liked this recipe although it wasn't as sweet as others might have liked so i would suggest adding more sugar or some maple syrup maybe even a sweet icing/frosting. My family loved it! Even though it wasn't sweet, it tasted very fresh and the bannana flavor came right thru. Very good even as a brunch or coffee pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starlet587

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
it was wonderful.. add a bit of cocoa too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Delicious! After reading other reviews,I increased the size (18 servings instead of 12) and it made a nice big 9x13 cake.I also decreased the amt of sugar a bit, and increased the bananas so it wouldn't be dry. Substituted unsalted butter for the shortening and added toasted pecans. I made a cream cheese frosting, but the cake was so moist and tasty that it would have been great without any frosting. I will definitely make this my go-to banana cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Followed the recipe as above, but my bananas were small so I used 4. Perfect! I cooked it in a Bundt pan and it was moist and delicious. No need for frosting, icing or spreading with butter. I recommend it to anyone. Next time, I will make into muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Was easy, but I agree with others it could use another banana. I will bake again but will use Canola Oil instead of shorteing.it was slightly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debora C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
A little heavy. Not very moist. No big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was amazing!! was looking for a banana cake not using brown sugar because i ran out...and i ran into this GEM!! i will always use this!! Its moist and went too quickly in my home of picky eaters! I used extra vanilla and used margarine instead of the shorting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Nope! I will note make this one again. I took a second look at all the ingredients and thought there was something missing. No milk? No buttermilk? Nothing with a liquid consistancy to it? But I trusted the reviews and thought I would give it a chance. When I added the banana's the dough looked more like cake batter, so I thought I was OK. My cake looked just like the picture. I made a glaze for it which my husband had preferred I had not. My whole family thought the cake was why too dry. We all took out the gallon of milk and each had a big glass to finish off our piece. This cake is dry, dry, dry.. Just want to warn everyone before they make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States