Banana Cake IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I tried this recipe twice. The first time I was making a two tone cupcake: banana in the middle and chocolate around the outside. The batter was too thick, so I thinned it with water. The cupcakes tasted great. The second time I made it as directed, no extra water. It was dry but it still tasted good. I think it is really good if you add more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
VERY GOOD! Made it for my husband's birthday and frosted it with cool whip and sliced strawberries and bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I liked this recipe although it wasn't as sweet as others might have liked so i would suggest adding more sugar or some maple syrup maybe even a sweet icing/frosting. My family loved it! Even though it wasn't sweet, it tasted very fresh and the bannana flavor came right thru. Very good even as a brunch or coffee pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starlet587

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
it was wonderful.. add a bit of cocoa too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Delicious! After reading other reviews,I increased the size (18 servings instead of 12) and it made a nice big 9x13 cake.I also decreased the amt of sugar a bit, and increased the bananas so it wouldn't be dry. Substituted unsalted butter for the shortening and added toasted pecans. I made a cream cheese frosting, but the cake was so moist and tasty that it would have been great without any frosting. I will definitely make this my go-to banana cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Followed the recipe as above, but my bananas were small so I used 4. Perfect! I cooked it in a Bundt pan and it was moist and delicious. No need for frosting, icing or spreading with butter. I recommend it to anyone. Next time, I will make into muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Was easy, but I agree with others it could use another banana. I will bake again but will use Canola Oil instead of shorteing.it was slightly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debora C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
A little heavy. Not very moist. No big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was amazing!! was looking for a banana cake not using brown sugar because i ran out...and i ran into this GEM!! i will always use this!! Its moist and went too quickly in my home of picky eaters! I used extra vanilla and used margarine instead of the shorting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Nope! I will note make this one again. I took a second look at all the ingredients and thought there was something missing. No milk? No buttermilk? Nothing with a liquid consistancy to it? But I trusted the reviews and thought I would give it a chance. When I added the banana's the dough looked more like cake batter, so I thought I was OK. My cake looked just like the picture. I made a glaze for it which my husband had preferred I had not. My whole family thought the cake was why too dry. We all took out the gallon of milk and each had a big glass to finish off our piece. This cake is dry, dry, dry.. Just want to warn everyone before they make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States