Banana Cake IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I decided to make this recipe into muffins instead of cake. I made three small substitutions; I used regular AP flour instead of cake flour (I did sift it with the other dry ingredients and when I googled it, I did what was suggested and subtract three tablespoons for each cup of flour which really brought the flour amount to just under two cups), I used butter instead of shortening and I cut the sugar back to a scant 3/4 cup as my bananas were REALLY ripe. The batter looked as it should for muffins, it baked up nicely and it tasted as banana bread should but these did turn out dry. If I make these again, I'd cut back the flour a quarter cup or so or add an additional banana. 350 for 20 minutes was just right for me. I got 12 large muffins out of one recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I made this cake as is the first time ... Excellent! The second time I altered it based on the reviews and used a Bundt cake pan (baked for 35 mins.), butter instead of shortening, and a cup of chocolate chips ... Decadent! By the way, I didn't have cake flour so I put 2 Tblsp cornstarch in each measuring cup before filling the remaining cup with flour ... 1/2 Tblsp for the 1/4 cup. What a versatile cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I ended up multiplying this recipe x1.5 (changed the servings from 12 to 18) so I wouldn't have a "flat" cake like the other reviews complained about. I had to bake it about 40 minutes at the same temp. It was perfect. I got a very plump 13x9 cake. Tasted great. I also used regular all purpose flour and it turned out fine. Perfect for my work potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Bigford

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This cake was great. I added an extra banana and some chocolate chips. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Barrow Lai

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Amazing cake! I know my family is going to love this! I used butter instead of shortening. I also didn't know what 3 banans really meant, as they are all different sizes. So I decided to take a guess and use 2 cups of mashed bananas. I will use that much again! I also toasted some walnuts and sprinkled on top before baking. It took 35 minutes and I used a slightly smaller glass baking dish to get a higher cake (11x 7) or 2.2 quart. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Heston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Delicious! Especially with a little cool whip on top. I used 1 stick of salted butter for the shortening/salt. Turned out great. I'll make this again when I need to use old bananas. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Good recipe! I used regular all purpose flour, margarine and only one cup sugar and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! I specifically chose this recipe because it is DAIRY FREE! I am so glad such a wonderful recipe qualifies, as the good ones are hard to come by! I used 2 cups of all purpose flour in place of the cake flour, and used oil in place of the shortening. I also mixed by hand, rather than with an electric mixer, as I find leaving the chunks a bit bigger leave more "interest" in the cake. Cake came out sooo yummy, and beautifully moist! I will definitely be making again, this may become my staple recipe for all those "dead" bananas we don't eat in time! Next time I make it, I plan on adding even more bananas than the three called for. I think it could only add to this wonderful recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This recipe was excellent. Exactly what I was looking for. My banana's weren't even ripe, but it is a perfect flavor. If you are looking for banana cake and not bread, this recipe is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
the taste is good but it turned out dry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States