Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I'm definitely NOT a baker and was pretty nervous when I decided to bake this cake. I creamed the butter n sugar first and ulternated between milk n flour. I added the bananas last. The batter was very thick and it seemed doomed to failure. But the end result had me shocked. So light and airy and very moist. Gonna save this recipe. The only thing I'll change is the amount of sugar. The cake in my opinion is too sweet to add frosting and I love frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Such a moist cake. It froze very well and tasted as fresh as the day i made it. Perfect iced with a cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This cake was moist and delicious, and tasted exactly like a banana cake should taste. I used buttermilk instead of sour cream because our refrigerator is broken (after three years -- don't buy Samsung refrigerators, BTW) and I was trying to use stuff up. Also, a cup of mashed banana is a lot more than one, it's at least three. You could even add some cinnamon, nutmeg and clove to make this as a delicious banana spice cake. Great recipe, can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellyebailey
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. For the sour milk I added a couple TBLSP of lemon juice to 3/4c milk. Tastes great ! I am high altitude in Denver so I had to cook this cake several more minutes than the two round layer pan time says. Instead of 17 minutes it was more like 25-30minutes. But you can tell when it's really the right time to take it out. For the frosting I made cream cheese frosting with 1/2 ripe banana added in. WONDERFUL. Frosting (1/2c powdered sugar, 1/4c butter, 1tsp vanilla, 1/2 ripe banana, 8oz cream cheese). I was able to put a thin layer between cakes and a thin but full layer of frosting over the entire layered cake. I then sprinkled with a little oatmeal for decoration. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Amery, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Possibly because I used 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup splenda, the cake was SO sweet... and I am a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I made this cake today at work, and it turned out very yummy. I didn't change or add anything but I think I'm going to add some nuts next time I make it and I will do an updated review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Not difficult to make. Perfect fluffy texture. And oh so very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I adore baking and when i made this recipe I made a banana cream by taking some mashed bananas and adding whipping cream in my blender. So Delicous! I think sometimes frosting can be too sweet, but with banana cream it's light and fluffy real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Next time going to use less sugar, it turned out too sweet but wonderfully tasty and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States