Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
It had a very good taste but is very dense and did not raise as I had expected. Maybe my milk was not room temp I will try this again - the taste is worth the second try. I did everything as written. I also used a persons suggestion for the banana cream frosting (from this site) - that I did not like. This will be much better with a regular frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Love this cake with some vanilla frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I love this recipe, as is as well as with small tweaks! For the sour milk, I use 1 cup milk and one teaspoon lemon juice, let sit for ten minutes @ room temp. Last time I made it I substituted with half caramel flavoring and half vanilla, the batter was tasty without the bananas and down right yummy after the bananas are added! My entire family loves this cake. We rarely even put icing on, that way it's also good for breakfast. I have decided to make a caramel buttercream to ice it with next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Just made this cake! Scaled it down to 8 servings and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
sooooo good very soft and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is really easy and very good! I made cupcakes and let them cook for 22 min at 325 because I used dark pans. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Amazing cake, I didn't change anything but I added a cup of chocolate chips and I topped it with a banana icing also from all recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I'm definitely NOT a baker and was pretty nervous when I decided to bake this cake. I creamed the butter n sugar first and ulternated between milk n flour. I added the bananas last. The batter was very thick and it seemed doomed to failure. But the end result had me shocked. So light and airy and very moist. Gonna save this recipe. The only thing I'll change is the amount of sugar. The cake in my opinion is too sweet to add frosting and I love frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Such a moist cake. It froze very well and tasted as fresh as the day i made it. Perfect iced with a cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This cake was moist and delicious, and tasted exactly like a banana cake should taste. I used buttermilk instead of sour cream because our refrigerator is broken (after three years -- don't buy Samsung refrigerators, BTW) and I was trying to use stuff up. Also, a cup of mashed banana is a lot more than one, it's at least three. You could even add some cinnamon, nutmeg and clove to make this as a delicious banana spice cake. Great recipe, can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGCHEF22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States