Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I adore baking and when i made this recipe I made a banana cream by taking some mashed bananas and adding whipping cream in my blender. So Delicous! I think sometimes frosting can be too sweet, but with banana cream it's light and fluffy real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Next time going to use less sugar, it turned out too sweet but wonderfully tasty and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I'm guilty of changing things slightly because I couldn't find the baking soda, so replaced that amount with the baking powder. I am also guilty of not measuring the bananas, just threw in 3 very ripe medium sized ones. The cake was amazing and a new family favourite. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I've just tried this recipe for the first time and my family loves it. I also added 1 tbsp Cinnamon, but I am lactose intolerant and so is my little girl, so we switched the sour milk for coconut milk and it still has amazing flavor. The cake was light, fluffy and moist. I frosted it with a banana-whipped frosting,(Duncan Hines Whipped Frosting w/ banana extract).. I cheated.. DELICIOUS! Thanks for the recipe. Instant Family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I made this cake and found it to be very dense and heavy - but my husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was delicious. Like a sponge cake! Mixed the butter and sugar first, then added the other ingredients as per the recipe. Cooked for 35 minutes with parchment. Frosting was a Cream Cheese Frosting with a overripe banana added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Came out great. Be careful not to overbeat it. Some reviewers said it was dense, more like a banana bread, but mine was perfect. Maybe they overmixed it. Also, make sure the eggs are room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is so good! I did a few small tweaks to make it lighter and it didn't taste at all like it was a 'diet' recipe to me. I used 3/4 cup of applesauce to replace the butter, egg whites in place of the eggs, and did the milk trick that everyone is talking about in the reviews (put 1 1/2 TBSP of vinegar into the 3/4 cup, then fill the rest with milk to sour it). I also used closer to 2 cups of mashed bananas (about four large, ripe bananas). This cake was very moist and tender and a big hit with my husband. This teacher gives it an A+!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Good but more like banana bread. Kind of heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Well, good flavour but a little more dense than I was expecting, given the reviews. There was a thin layer of under-baked cake on the bottom. Also, it certainly doesn't need 1 1/2 cups sugar! The over ripe bananas make it sweet enough - I used 3/4 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States