Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
This was an amazingly moist cake. For sour milk I used an old family method: 2 tbsp vinegar and enough milk to make 1 cup (I only used 3/4 C like the recipe calls though). I frosted it with a little homemade chocolate icing and sprinkled it with chopped walnuts. This cake was a real nice treat and great to take to work if made in a 13x9 size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLE_F

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This was the best banana cake I have ever had. It is so moist, light and fluffy. I did add 1/2 TBS of cinnamon and instead of using sour milk I used 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/4 cup milk. This was so good plain I didn't even bother frosting it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakesnthings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
With all the banana cake recipes listed here, I didn't know which one to make. But don't look any further--this is the recipe you want! :-) I made this (in a 9x13 pan) for my husband's birthday, even though he's not real big on bananas. He loved it, and so did everyone else! (I accidently poured in the whole cup of sour milk that I had prepared, and it still turned out to be perfect!) I added chocolate chips (as others suggested), and I topped it with the "Banana Cream Frosting" (another "allrecipes.com" recipe; see my review for that too). It tasted absolutely delicious this way!! Very moist and filling! Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
i followed this recipe exactly how the recipe says. but my cake came out very flat and was literally 3/4 inch thick. does anybody know what is wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This recipes is the best!!! I am 14 and I bake this for my parents. THey love them. THey take them to work, and they don't even have a chance to try them because they disappear so fast! I bake them as cupcakes. It makes 24. For the butter/margarine, I would use one stick of butter/margarine and 1/4 cup applesauce. It cuts back a little on the calories and you can't taste the difference. THis is the best banana cake/cupcake recipes ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
Wonderful, light cake. I added 2/3cup of miniature chocolate chips and topped with a Chocolate Streusel. Delicious! Chocolate Streusel: 1cup brown sugar, 1/4cup unsweetened cocoa, 6Tbs. butter, 1/2cup flour--pulse in food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Wonderful cake! I made this into cupcakes and it made 24 perfect, moist and spongy cakes. I added 2 tsp. cinnamon and frosted it with a double batch of "Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing" from this site. I would have liked to have made a cream cheese icing for this cake, but didn't have any cream cheese. I get the best results when making homeade cake by making sure to really beat the butter and sugar well (medium speed for at least 2 minutes). I then added the eggs one at a time, beating after each addition. Then I added the bananas. Add the milk and flour mixture alternately just until incorporated. I baked them for about 23 minutes. To make the sour milk, I put 3/4 Tbsp. vinegar in a measuring cup and added milk to make 3/4 cup. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I THINK THIS IS THE BEST BANANA CAKE I HAVE EVER TASTED.. I TOOK IT TO WORK AND EVERYONE LOVED IT. IT TASTES LIKE CAKE NOT BANANA BREAD AND IS LIGHT AND MOIST.. I CAN'T WAIT TO MAKE IT AGAIN.. WITH REQUESTS FOR FLAVORED WEDDING CAKES I THINK THIS ONE WOULD BE A GREAT CHOICE. BUNNY PROCTER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Very quick, very moist, very good. Added milk to 3/4 Tablespoon of lemon juice to make 3/4 cup to sour it. I put chocolate frosting on my portion (my husband can't have chocolate, so I didn't frost the whole thing)--yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
Yummy!!!!! Rather than layering this cake I made two smaller cakes. This banana cake is moist and tasty and lasts well in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States