Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Very delicious. I used half white whole wheat flour & half regular flour. I poked holes with a fork and then poured a powdered sugar and water icing over the cake...it made it very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was amazing! Light & fluffy and not overwhelmingly banana. Added some cinnamon & used plain yogurt instead of the sour milk. Didn't bother with the frosting. It's great on it's own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Absolutely PERFECT! I've tried another recipe that called for almost a cup more sugar and it was waaaaay to sweet. Started looking for another recipe that called for less sugar and found this one. I made it as per directed and also took your advice on making the frosting with a banana. IT WAS PERFECT! The best banana cake hands down. Thank you so much, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarabella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I was looking for something other than banana bread to make with the over ripe bananas. I only had 2 medium and they made one cup exactly. This cake is very good. It's light and moist. Good without the frosting. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Simone
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I followed this recipe to the letter. I also did the sour milk the old fashion way with two tbsp vinegar. OMG SO SO GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Very good banana cake recipe. My guests loved it & wanted the recipe so that's always a good sign right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Made the recipe as directed, and added a homemade cream cheese icing. Entered this cake into the county fair this year and got a Blue Ribbon!! Great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKEYROB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is a cake with a lovely, light texture. A wonderful, delicious, cake! (I don't like banana bread). It took 45 minutes to bake in a 13 x 9 pan, perhaps because I live near 6,000 ft altitude. I reduced the baking soda a pinchful for that reason--maybe it helped--or not--the cake rose beautifully, in any case. I squeezed half of a lemon on the mashed bananas to brighten the flavor a bit, but that was due solely to my preference. I made a cream cheese frosting, applying it when the cake was still somewhat warm so that it was more like a glaze. My husband and I both had to have seconds! YUMMY! I won't even try other versions: If it ain't broke, don't fix it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I loved this cake. I hate recipes that are complicated with weird directions and ingredients because it's making up for a flaw somewhere else in the cake. This one was PERFECT. Simple. I made 2 9" rounds and they came out beautiful. Did cook for about 25 minutes. Frosted with a simple cream cheese frosting and topped with walnuts. Beautiful, simple and so yummy. Some of the other cakes on here are complicated for unknown reasons. Can't go wrong here. (used about 4 ripe bananas also.. so yummy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Very moist...I did add some cinnamon and nutmeg and allspice( 1/2 tea of each)and about 1/4 cup more milk because batter was a little stiff...had lots of compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina lafreniere

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States