Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Make this just as written and you won't be disappointed. But be sure to use real buttermilk. The substitute may 'work' but it will not yield quite the same results. This cake is fluffy, moist and full of flavor. I frosted it with "Banana Nut Frosting" from this site and what a wonderful combination it made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Just made this recipe into cupcakes! Followed ingredients exactly, just measured into paper-lined muffin tin, filling cups almost to the top of the paper. Baked for 25 minutes at 350. They stayed pretty flat, didn't rise up too high. Torn between making a caramel frosting or a peanut butter frosting! I did just try one plain, and they are really really good! Very soft and sweet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Made this cake today using 1c white sugar and 1/2c brown sugar. Everything else I used was as the recipe stated. I find the cake to be rather bland and dry. I topped it with a coconut cream cheese frosting, which make it eatable, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I am a pretty novice baker, but gave this recipe my best shot, and my goodness, did it ever work out well. Very moist, but not the same consistency as banana bread, which I was very pleased about. Made the same substitutions as another reviewer, subbing in sour cream and milk for the sour milk. Amazing! Don't be thrown off when you mix the dry with most of the wet ingredients - it will be very thick like a dough - and make sure not to over mix - once you add the mashed bananas and remaining liquids, it turns into a nice cake batter. Brought the cake to an evening class and people were taking seconds they liked it so much! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This recipe turned out great! I added 2/3 cup mini chocolate chips and baked donuts in my donuts pan; iced with a thin chocolate glaze...they turned out perfect! My kids, and all of their friends, ate them as fast as I could make them! Thank you for the great recipe...I know that I will be making these again! I think that I will try applesauce in place of the banana and add cinnamon; dust with cinnamon and confectioners sugar too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I found this recipe looking for a quick and easy cake to use my over-ripe bananas. It is not only quick to prepare, but is delicious with or without frosting! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Good, not great - of the 17 I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Very delicious. I used half white whole wheat flour & half regular flour. I poked holes with a fork and then poured a powdered sugar and water icing over the cake...it made it very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was amazing! Light & fluffy and not overwhelmingly banana. Added some cinnamon & used plain yogurt instead of the sour milk. Didn't bother with the frosting. It's great on it's own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Absolutely PERFECT! I've tried another recipe that called for almost a cup more sugar and it was waaaaay to sweet. Started looking for another recipe that called for less sugar and found this one. I made it as per directed and also took your advice on making the frosting with a banana. IT WAS PERFECT! The best banana cake hands down. Thank you so much, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarabella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States