Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is so good! I did a few small tweaks to make it lighter and it didn't taste at all like it was a 'diet' recipe to me. I used 3/4 cup of applesauce to replace the butter, egg whites in place of the eggs, and did the milk trick that everyone is talking about in the reviews (put 1 1/2 TBSP of vinegar into the 3/4 cup, then fill the rest with milk to sour it). I also used closer to 2 cups of mashed bananas (about four large, ripe bananas). This cake was very moist and tender and a big hit with my husband. This teacher gives it an A+!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Good but more like banana bread. Kind of heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Well, good flavour but a little more dense than I was expecting, given the reviews. There was a thin layer of under-baked cake on the bottom. Also, it certainly doesn't need 1 1/2 cups sugar! The over ripe bananas make it sweet enough - I used 3/4 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We messed up when making this recipe. My friend threw all of the ingredients into a bowl at once and attacked it with a hand mixer until it resembled batter, then baked it... And it came out PERFECT. Moist and sweet (but not overly sweet), even though the bananas we used probably weren't as ripe as they should have been. Covered it in Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting (also from this site), and everyone who tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
alex...it sounds as if you forgot to add the eggs...that's the only thing I can come up with. I made the recipe today, only I substituted splenda for the sugar...very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made this last night and everyone (myself included) loved the taste. I'm wondering what I did wrong for it to turn out a bit dense and more like bread than cake. Recipe says to "beat well" but I was afraid the batter could've turned out like glue. How long do I beat the batter for? Or what else could I do different? Thanks in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Delicious. Great banana flavor in a fluffy cake. I made mini muffins and dipped them in almond bark. Cooked 17 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
The only reason I'm rating this cake a 4 is I didn't find the banana flavour very intense. I used just over 1 cup (3 bananas) but I think I will add a 4th banana next time. The texture of the cake was exactly what I was looking for though. A fluffy cake! not a dense solid banana bread that most of the cakes I have tried on here have turned out to be. For some extra flavour I also took 1 cup of batter and added 5 tbsp cinnamon to it. I then spread that on top of the cake in the pan and used a knife to swirl it through. Not necessary by any means, but just something we like the taste of. Yes ladies and gentleman, this really is a Banana CAKE! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was a great recipe. But instead of a big cake I made it into cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Great flavor, but it was a lot denser than I was hoping for. I'm looking for a fluffier banana cake recipe. I wonder if I should make a white cake with banana extract...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan  and Alison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States