Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Very good banana cake recipe. My guests loved it & wanted the recipe so that's always a good sign right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Made the recipe as directed, and added a homemade cream cheese icing. Entered this cake into the county fair this year and got a Blue Ribbon!! Great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKEYROB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is a cake with a lovely, light texture. A wonderful, delicious, cake! (I don't like banana bread). It took 45 minutes to bake in a 13 x 9 pan, perhaps because I live near 6,000 ft altitude. I reduced the baking soda a pinchful for that reason--maybe it helped--or not--the cake rose beautifully, in any case. I squeezed half of a lemon on the mashed bananas to brighten the flavor a bit, but that was due solely to my preference. I made a cream cheese frosting, applying it when the cake was still somewhat warm so that it was more like a glaze. My husband and I both had to have seconds! YUMMY! I won't even try other versions: If it ain't broke, don't fix it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I loved this cake. I hate recipes that are complicated with weird directions and ingredients because it's making up for a flaw somewhere else in the cake. This one was PERFECT. Simple. I made 2 9" rounds and they came out beautiful. Did cook for about 25 minutes. Frosted with a simple cream cheese frosting and topped with walnuts. Beautiful, simple and so yummy. Some of the other cakes on here are complicated for unknown reasons. Can't go wrong here. (used about 4 ripe bananas also.. so yummy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Very moist...I did add some cinnamon and nutmeg and allspice( 1/2 tea of each)and about 1/4 cup more milk because batter was a little stiff...had lots of compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina lafreniere

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was amazing!! I will never make banana bread again, this was so moist. I used recommendation on a review to make sour milk with vinegar and I used self rising flour omitting the salt and baking powder but added the soda. Made a basic cream cheese frosting. This was better chilled the next day I just couldn't quit eating it Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Love this recipe, I have made about 20 cakes so far for bake sales, friends and family, everyone adores it. The only thing is the sour milk was not working out for me, it left the cake puddingy in the middle, so I start using regular fresh milk and it comes out perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sprinkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingstown, Saint George Parish, Saint Vincent And The Grenadines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great recipe, easy, moist cake just a bit too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This cake was very easy to make and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Key

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was very good and quite easy to make. Topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting II also from AR. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Khoen-Raineri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States