Banana Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delicious and addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessaca
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Not bad. They have a nice mild taste. Like banana bread but in a cookie. :). Didn't make the frosting. Just had them plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Omg amazing , so soft they wont stick around for long .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
very good. Instead of the frosting i added white and milk chocolate chips on top. yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I feel like it's probably a good base recipe, but is missing something. I thought the soft, cakey texture was the highlight of this cookie. The taste was bland. In fact, I reread the recipe after I prepared it, thinking I surely must have left something out. I did use cinnamon instead of the clove, and even a bit of nutmeg, but the taste of the cookie was still disappointing and unlively. I used chopped peanuts instead of the pecans. I feel as though the nuts helped to give some flavor to an otherwise unremarkable recipe. After I baked half of the batch, I threw some chocolate chips in the remaining batter (and this was, to me, a batter, not a dough). In my opinion this salvaged the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Excellent soft cookie. Great texture and taste. I didn't have a full cup of mashed bananas so I added about 1/4 cup applesauce to fill the cup. Also added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. Cookies were done in 8 minutes and I made them big! No need for icing, they are great without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
These cookies were a huge hit at our recent party. They tasted absolutely amazing!I did follow the suggestions of others & substituted butter in place of the shortening & cinnamon for cloves. Also because I was trying to visit with a friend & make these at the same time I completely forgot to add the eggs but to my surprise you would have never even known they were missing. Thanks for posting such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsMiller
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I am pretty obsessive about reading reviews of recipes for alterations before trying one. I didn't really alter much here. I did sub cinnamon for the cloves (as that is what I had) and I probably ended up with about 1 and 1/4 cup banana as I went ahead and just mashed three. I omitted the nuts and added dark chocolate chips. I did need extra milk for the icing as the recipe suggested (and I didn't measure here... but it was 3 "splashes") and I poured it into a bag, clipped the edge, and drizzled it over the cookies. They came out great and are really cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BooQue
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
These cookies are so delicious!! My family loved them and I will be saving this recipe. I made a few changes for my own liking. To the cookie mix I added cinnamon, vanilla, another cup of bananas, a bit more flour and used walnuts instead of pecans. They don't really need the powdered sugar and frosting so made half the frosting and drizzled it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The cookie was good. The cloves overpowered the banana flavor. I will make these again bur will with eliminate the cloves or substitute cinnamon for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States