Banana Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
These cookies were a huge hit at our recent party. They tasted absolutely amazing!I did follow the suggestions of others & substituted butter in place of the shortening & cinnamon for cloves. Also because I was trying to visit with a friend & make these at the same time I completely forgot to add the eggs but to my surprise you would have never even known they were missing. Thanks for posting such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsMiller
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I am pretty obsessive about reading reviews of recipes for alterations before trying one. I didn't really alter much here. I did sub cinnamon for the cloves (as that is what I had) and I probably ended up with about 1 and 1/4 cup banana as I went ahead and just mashed three. I omitted the nuts and added dark chocolate chips. I did need extra milk for the icing as the recipe suggested (and I didn't measure here... but it was 3 "splashes") and I poured it into a bag, clipped the edge, and drizzled it over the cookies. They came out great and are really cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BooQue
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
These cookies are so delicious!! My family loved them and I will be saving this recipe. I made a few changes for my own liking. To the cookie mix I added cinnamon, vanilla, another cup of bananas, a bit more flour and used walnuts instead of pecans. They don't really need the powdered sugar and frosting so made half the frosting and drizzled it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The cookie was good. The cloves overpowered the banana flavor. I will make these again bur will with eliminate the cloves or substitute cinnamon for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I was on the fence rating this recipe. As others have said, they're cake-like, consistent with a muffin top. Very light and airy. I'm not quite sure what to make of them. I was hoping for a more dense texture. Switching out the shortening with butter would be a wise idea, as well as adding additional spices. Hubs likes them, but I don't think I'll be rushing to make these again with my overripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Yummy, just what I was looking for. I didn't have pecans, but I had dried dates, which are a nice treat. I dropped generous spoonfuls of dough and got about 30 cookies. I only used about half of the frosting. Not sure it's needed; they'd probably be good without, or with sprinkled powdered sugar instead. I'd probably make these again. My five year old head fun helping mash the bananas and measure the dry ingredients. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte221

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Perfect flavor! I followed recipe for the cookies exactly and omitted the icing. As some others mentioned, this is more like a muffin top. Sort of a spongy cakey consistency, in a good way. The name of the cookie is apt: "banana cake". My three medium bananas made one cup. The "dough" is the same consistency as for banana bread so I used a tablespoon and loaded the tray like a drop cookie. Mine yielded 24 3" cookies. I left trays in for 14 minutes at 350. I may substitute butter next time, as I am not a fan of shortening. That will yield a flatter cookie. And maybe add a smidge of vanilla. But this one is a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This was great I did it with my 4 year old niece it was simple and fun. The cookies are sooo tender. I added about 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of cloves as well as vanilla about a tsp as well. Amazing!!! Will do again!! Oh and 4 Banana s didn't bother measuring it just used them all up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Very good cookies! easy and quick, good for overripe bananas (I used 3 medium ones). I'm making these for Christmas and now I'm ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Very good. Added 1 cup of creamy peanut butter and they where excellent. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States