Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This is the first time that I have made this recipe. It was also the first time that I made a bread recipe without eggs and milk. This recipe was very easy to make. I added a 1/4 cup of water once the bananas were added, which made it easier to mix up. If the batter is any indication of how good the bread is going to be-------it is a home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Delicious! I made it as is. It was moist the first day and all the days afterwards. Thanks for the recipe! UPDATE: I made it again with wheat flour and added walnuts. Still delicious! (About 20-25 mintes to bake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Fresh out of the oven now! It smells soo amazing. My 12year old son all but shoved his head in the mixer bowl to clean it out after I put the mix in the loaf pan. The dough is really really thick though so I added about 3 tbs of water to help it work together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Super easy and surprisingly moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I was part of a team of novice cooks that work in a soup in kitchen. We wanted to make banana bread and chose this recipe because there is no eggs or milk required--we need to ration certain resources. The bread turned out perfectly (even with the serving adjustment for one hundred). The mixture was a little thick to spread out in the pans, but once completely spread out evenly, the mixture rose nicely in the oven. There was not a piece leftover! People made requests for more :) Thank-u, thank-u, and thank-u for your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I made this today because I had some bananas to use up, and no milk or eggs. It is very, very tasty and surprisingly moist. I followed the recipe exactly, except I did add some chocolate chips because I happened to have an open package I needed to do something with. I have no doubt it would be just as delicious without them. Great recipe :) UPDATE: I have now made this recipe 2 more times. I wanted to add chocolate chips, but was out of them. So, I melted down some Godiva chocolate almond truffles for one loaf, and chocolate peanut butter truffles for the other. In both cases, I added about a tablespoon of milk to the batter to make it a tad looser, and then folded the melted chocolate in. Like before, I found I required an additional 5 minutes baking time. All three times I have made this bread it has been excellent. If you like chocolate, I highly recommend playing around with your favorite brands/flavors- so, SO good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BevKat
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is a bread, not a cake/muffin/type-bread. DELICIOUS!! I added 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips. I did not add more bc I believe less is more and if the eater gets too many chips....no excitement. Leave 'em wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
The best banana bread recipe I have found. I tweaked it slightly, I used brown sugar & white sugar. I used butter instead of shortening. I also added vanilla extract and I used an extra banana. Also added some white chocolate chips. Everyone loved it - it was gone the same day I made it. Very moist - I was surprised since it did not have any milk, water or egg. A definite keeper recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by libbie
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Great! But i added 1 c. chopped pecans, substituted 1 stick butter for the shortening, added one container gerber banana baby food and a splash of water to help make it smoother and easier to pour into the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I made this as is and my family loved it. It's good for taking on a day trip since it has no eggs or milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States