Banana Bread VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
The BEST Banana bread recipe I have found! Easy, quick and SO moist! I've always been disappointed with past recipes b/c they were dry. This recipe is very moist! I did add 1/2 cup milk and 1 tsp vanilla and some cinnamon. Can't wait to try other variations with chocolate chips, nuts, etc! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was great! I didn't alter the recipe at all and it turned out just fine. It wasn't dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuiper55

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This recipe was awesome. I used butter instead of shortening and will try it next time with applesauce. I wasn't sure what 3 ripe bananas is actually equivalent to - since bananas come in all sizes. So I started with two and ended up with a third to make it more batter-y than dough-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very easy and fast to make, and I love the fact that it has no eggs in it. It was an extremely dry batter though, so I added about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of buttermilk. I also added a bit of cinnamon and vanilla to taste and made into muffins. After that, it came out perfectly moist and delicious! If it wasn't for the dryness of the batter, this would merit a five star. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
My kids love this recipe. I make it at least twice a month. I change it a little by adding 1/2 cup of flax seed meal, and I always add 1 egg for a little protien.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I felt it necessary to add about 1 tablespoon milk to get a better texture. I also add 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenderbelle61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Thanks for this recipe. My daughter is allergic to eggs, but banana bread is one of my husband's favorite foods. We've been using this recipe for years now. Last week I made regular banana bread with eggs, and my husband and I both agree that this eggless recipe is better. It has more banana flavor, is more tender. I like to top the banana bread with raw sugar before baking it. I usually use butter instead of shortening (avoiding transfats); I have used palm oil shortening with it and it's good that way too. I do usually add about 1/2 cup milk but if your bananas are large, that liquid isn't necessary unless you want it. The batter will be dry and firm 'til you add the bananas, if you don't add milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! I use applesauce in place of the shortening to cut the fat and it's so moist and tasty. Sometimes I add strawberries or blueberries to it as well as chocolate chips and walnuts. This recipe is wonderfully versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
First time makeing this bread. Not sure how it will turn out I used butter instead of shortning because I didnt have any... Hope it works I saw in a post someone used butter instead and they said it worked well.... Hope they are right. So far it looks good also i used small bread pans they are like 2x4 pans not even sure the size but not the normal size I was able to get all the batter in 3 pans none the less filled half way on each. only thing i should of done was instead of 3 half full maybe 2 half inch from top full ... oh well as long as it tastes good I dont care :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States