Banana Bread VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I first tried this recipe because my little grandson is allergic to eggs. It has become a family favourite. I make muffins instead of bread. I use margarine instead of shortening, and I also use 1/2 cup of brown sugar & 1/2 cup of white instead of all white. I have added walnuts and miniature chocolate chips. Today I put aboaut 1/3 cup of chopped strawberries with the chocolate chips. To make it a special treat, I frost with cream cheese icing! It makes exactly 12 good size muffins and they freeze well. Depending on how big the bananas are, I have added a little milk, as some have suggestred ~ only if the batter is a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I read the other reviews that said it was a little dry, so I added about 1/2 a cup (give or take) of plain greek yogurt and that worked like a charm! I also added rolled oats & chocolate chips. YUM! definitely going to make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Thanks for the great recipe. I had some bananas that were beyond ripe but didn't have any eggs...found this recipe and made in a muffin pan to shorten the baking time...turned out WONDERFUL! Probably the best banana bread I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
WOW! I love this recipe. I had some old bananas just lying around and my son was starting table food and I wanted to make some bread for him but, without eggs because I did not want him to develop an allergy. I am very impressed with this, but just like other posters....I would add 1/2-3/4 cup of milk. It is great...I plan on adding nuts or chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I added 2/3 cup of milk and walnuts. No eggs, WOW!! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Yummy Banana Bread. I took the advice of one of the reviewers and added 3/4 cup of milk. It came out moist and fluffly. I also added 1 cup of chocolate chips and 1 cup of walnuts. It taste sooo good. This recipe is a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used 1 cup Splenda White Sugar, 1 cup Splenda Brown Sugar, and added 1tsp of baking soda instead of white sugar. I will use this again. !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Way too much salt! I would only add 1/2 teaspoon salt next time. I think it would taste much better then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Ohh, lovely. I couldn't resist tweaking (added some walnuts and semi-sweet chocolate chips) and I had to use whole wheat and applesauce since that's all I had on hand... I can only guess that if I hadn't done that it would have only been sweeter and more tender! Excellent simple recipe! Took well over and hour to bake, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This bread was FANTASTIC.! I did add 1/2 cup of milk but that is the only thing I did differently, it was a huge hit at work and home!!!! So super simple, quick and easy!!! I recommend this bread to everyone..DELICIOUS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States