Banana Bread VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very easy recipe and tastes delicious, but my loaf fell in the middle. Can anyone tell me how to remedy that for the future?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I made two side by side BB's this day and sent them to my husband's office. Hands down, this one won! I used butter instead of shortening. I added one small Activa peach yogurt and some vanilla extract, then cooked it 15mn longer. Perfect! Very moist and they all loved it! Now I have to make one for me to enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginceasar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I thought this was okay but I wouldn't make it again. The texture is moist but almost gummy. I found it too sweet and I think the sugar masks the banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Seems to be a fool proof recipe. I made some revisions and it turned out great! Instead of shortening I replaced it with 1/4 c butter and 1/4 c cinnamon apple sauce and used 3/4 c whole wheat flour, 3/4 c white flour. Also used 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 white sugar. Next time I think I'll just do the 1/2 c brown sugar and skip the add'l white sugar. Super easy to make. This version took 55 minutes to cook on convection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I used whole wheat white flour. That was the only change I made I ended up getting 12 muffins out of this recipe. These were good but honestly, I missed the eggs and the banana bread seemed to have no flavor, other than flour and banana. I think it could use a little baking powder, too as well as vanilla flavoring. I also thought it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I really like this recipe. I was looking for something vegan because I am on a low cholesterol diet, but ended up making it with a splash of 1% milk. I also used applesauce in place of the shortening and added 1 tsp of baking powder. It came out a tad rubbery (I think I overmixed it, so it was my fault not the recipe) but really good! I also used bananas that my husband had frozen, so they were super sweet, giving the bread a crazy big banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I was looking for a vegan banana bread recipe as my daughter has severe dairy and egg allergies. Although I don't ever use shortening so I substitute pureed veggies (sweet potato, pumpkin, carrot, etc.) for the shortening for a moist and extra nutritious banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I ran out of of eggs and was looking for an egg-free banana bread recipe. This one was awesome! I added 1/2 c milk and a couple of spoonfuls of sour cream--so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Easy & quick to whip up. I make it with 4 bananas & 50% whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dstrickland75
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is the best banana bread ever! After reading reviews, I did 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. Added 1/2 cup of milk and made muffins. They are so delicious. I am adding this to my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dstrickland75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States