Rich and Delicious Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I used to make banana bread with eggs, but my son has developed an egg allergy. I tried this so he could eat this with his sisters....and this was fantastic! I added 1/4C milk, and the bread was a bit mushy. I will try this recipe again w/o adding milk and see what happens. I did also add chocolate chips and some walnuts to top it off. Overall - a great EGG FREE recipe!!! **It did firm a little overnight, but much. That did not matter as the kids LOVED it and we are making more this morning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
It was very easy to make!! My kids LOVED the batter, It's not ready yeat.. I will update when we try it! I did use about a tbs of sour cream, 1/4 brown sugar, vanilla and cinnamon!! We will see!! It seems like it is going to be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I'm giving this 2 stars because once I had mixed in all the ingredients, I had a dry mess! There was no way this was "pouring" anywhere!!! I had to add 1/2 cup of milk to get a batter consistancy, so that I could pour it into my loaf pan. Once baked, this was great, not too sweet, and very banana-ry. I would say this is more of a cake than a bread though, because I have tried other banana breads that are more like a bread than a cake. This would be good with raisens added in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was excellent! I have been trying to eliminate any animal products from my diet, and who knew you could make BETTER banana bread with no egg in it!!! I only had 1/4 cup shortening so I added 1/4 cup applesauce. I intended to add vanilla and cinnamon, but forgot....might try that next time, but again this was great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Wonderful texture and very strong banana flavor, even with only 2 bananas. I added the 1/2 c skim milk, 1 t vanilla and 1/2 t cinnamon and used butter for shortening. Will update when I try yogurt and applesauce for shortening. Thanks for healthier twist on this treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I did have to add 1/2 c. milk. I believe this recipe is ideal family baking. It is inexpensive, simple, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Smelled wonderful cooking but did not live up to expectations as a bread way to soft and sticky. Needs less sugar I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 because I tweaked it a bit. I added 1/4 milk, 1/4 t. cinnamon, and 1 t. vanilla as other reviewers had suggested. It turned out fabulous; dense, moist, and perfect in taste. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I am not the best baker-but this bread is so easy, even mine is wonderful. I will be making this often. It is GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
i doubled the recipe and i was very cautious not to over mix the batter. the cake came out moist, but quite crumbly. my husband said the "other" banana bread was so much better; if only i can find the recipe. my niece, however, enjoys them and said that the sides, including the top, are somewhat candied. i agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States