Rich and Delicious Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This is a great recipe. I had no issue with fluid amounts or having the consistency become pourable. I have experimented with adding some cinnamon and nutmeg and allspice, all of which has been tasty in about one teaspoon doses. In fact, this recipe is so good, and knowing that the eggless batter is a bonus, I have actually started buying extra bananas to keep for the next loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sudi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This recipe is too salty. I should have followed my insticts while making it and added 1/2 tsp of salt instead of 1 tsp. Other than that, I added the 1/2 c. milk suggested by other reviewers. Might try again with 1/2 tsp salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This is heavenly. I'm munching on some warm as I write - bliss! I added 3/4 cup of whole milk (but as I used metric, I could perhaps have gotten away with less), half a tsp of cinnamon and substituted half the white sugar for brown sugar. It's moist as anything and the brown sugar gives it extra richness and 'tooth'. This is definitely the easiest and best banana bread recipe I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was easy to make and tasted good. I agree with others that the mixture was a bit on the dry side (used US measurements) so I added some milk. I also used butter instead of shortening (I didn't have any on hand), made them in muffin form (for quicker cooking) and added some rolled oats, flaked almonds and shredded coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phuong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I read some of the reviews and quite a lot of you said the mixture was too dry and needed to add milk. This is because it asks for too much flour in the US conversion! If you take a look at Metric it says 190g of flour and 200g of sugar... but it says 1 and half cup flour and 1 cup sugar at US. Anyway the mixture was fine for me :D i recommend cutting down on the salt because it was very salty! Other than that it was good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scarborough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I added 1/2 c. milk, 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. DELICIOUS! Dense and very moist(we like it when slightly undercooked and fudgy - yum!). My FIL devours this when he comes to visit! Good with walnuts, too. I'm now known for my yummy banana bread - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
For an eggless recipe, this bread rocks! I wanted to make a banana bread, but didn't have any eggs - I figured allrecipes would have an eggless recipe, and wonder of wonders, they did! I substituted margarine for the shortening and it turned out delicious. I also added a bit of vanilla for some flavor. I even made a plum version once! Instead of bananas, I substituted 1 cup of pureed plums (threw some canned plums in heavy syrup into the blender) and decreased the sugar to 2/3 cup since the plums were VERY sweet. This variation turned out awesome too - you should try it - an interesting and strong flavor, especially for those who are fans of other quick breads besides the regular banana. UPDATE*** Today I baked this banana bread with the addition of an expired 6 oz Dannon fat free raspberry and white chocolate yogurt. It made the banana bread more tender and fluffy, closer in texture to Janet's Rich Banana Bread on this site, which is the only other banana bread I bake. If you do this, however, decrease the baking temperature to 325 and bake for at least 15 minutes longer than indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by tripleplaysaver
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very good. Moist and dense. I will add some crushed nuts next time. My substitutions/additions: butter instead of shortening, added 3/4c. soy milk, 1 tsp. vanilla extract, 1 tsp. almond extract. Sprinkled top with cinnamon. The interior of this bread was very colorful. I used overripe bananas and 8x8 Jadeite pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belding, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I followed the advice of others and added mashed bananas AFTER the creamed mixture and dry ingredients were mixed together. Also added vanilla (to mashed banana) and cinnamon. Was a nice doughy consistency, looked great! Can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This is the first time I've made an eggless banana bread that didn't taste like baking soda! Thank goodness. My son has severe egg and milk allergies, and I don't like to use shortening so I used a salt-free margarine, and an extra banana in a 9X5 glass bread pan. Added some milk free chocolate chips and it came out great. I did have to cook it for an extra 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States