Banana Bread VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I added 1/2 c. milk, 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. DELICIOUS! Dense and very moist(we like it when slightly undercooked and fudgy - yum!). My FIL devours this when he comes to visit! Good with walnuts, too. I'm now known for my yummy banana bread - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
For an eggless recipe, this bread rocks! I wanted to make a banana bread, but didn't have any eggs - I figured allrecipes would have an eggless recipe, and wonder of wonders, they did! I substituted margarine for the shortening and it turned out delicious. I also added a bit of vanilla for some flavor. I even made a plum version once! Instead of bananas, I substituted 1 cup of pureed plums (threw some canned plums in heavy syrup into the blender) and decreased the sugar to 2/3 cup since the plums were VERY sweet. This variation turned out awesome too - you should try it - an interesting and strong flavor, especially for those who are fans of other quick breads besides the regular banana. UPDATE*** Today I baked this banana bread with the addition of an expired 6 oz Dannon fat free raspberry and white chocolate yogurt. It made the banana bread more tender and fluffy, closer in texture to Janet's Rich Banana Bread on this site, which is the only other banana bread I bake. If you do this, however, decrease the baking temperature to 325 and bake for at least 15 minutes longer than indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by tripleplaysaver
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very good. Moist and dense. I will add some crushed nuts next time. My substitutions/additions: butter instead of shortening, added 3/4c. soy milk, 1 tsp. vanilla extract, 1 tsp. almond extract. Sprinkled top with cinnamon. The interior of this bread was very colorful. I used overripe bananas and 8x8 Jadeite pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belding, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I followed the advice of others and added mashed bananas AFTER the creamed mixture and dry ingredients were mixed together. Also added vanilla (to mashed banana) and cinnamon. Was a nice doughy consistency, looked great! Can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This is the first time I've made an eggless banana bread that didn't taste like baking soda! Thank goodness. My son has severe egg and milk allergies, and I don't like to use shortening so I used a salt-free margarine, and an extra banana in a 9X5 glass bread pan. Added some milk free chocolate chips and it came out great. I did have to cook it for an extra 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I used to make banana bread with eggs, but my son has developed an egg allergy. I tried this so he could eat this with his sisters....and this was fantastic! I added 1/4C milk, and the bread was a bit mushy. I will try this recipe again w/o adding milk and see what happens. I did also add chocolate chips and some walnuts to top it off. Overall - a great EGG FREE recipe!!! **It did firm a little overnight, but much. That did not matter as the kids LOVED it and we are making more this morning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
It was very easy to make!! My kids LOVED the batter, It's not ready yeat.. I will update when we try it! I did use about a tbs of sour cream, 1/4 brown sugar, vanilla and cinnamon!! We will see!! It seems like it is going to be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I'm giving this 2 stars because once I had mixed in all the ingredients, I had a dry mess! There was no way this was "pouring" anywhere!!! I had to add 1/2 cup of milk to get a batter consistancy, so that I could pour it into my loaf pan. Once baked, this was great, not too sweet, and very banana-ry. I would say this is more of a cake than a bread though, because I have tried other banana breads that are more like a bread than a cake. This would be good with raisens added in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was excellent! I have been trying to eliminate any animal products from my diet, and who knew you could make BETTER banana bread with no egg in it!!! I only had 1/4 cup shortening so I added 1/4 cup applesauce. I intended to add vanilla and cinnamon, but forgot....might try that next time, but again this was great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Wonderful texture and very strong banana flavor, even with only 2 bananas. I added the 1/2 c skim milk, 1 t vanilla and 1/2 t cinnamon and used butter for shortening. Will update when I try yogurt and applesauce for shortening. Thanks for healthier twist on this treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States