Banana Bread VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Awesome vegan quick bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Good basic recipe. I don't use shortening so I used butter....but other than that it is good just as is. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I made this once about 2 years ago and I did not care for it. I ran out of eggs again last night and really needed to make banana bread. Grudgingly, I went ahead and tried this recipe again. Like last time, I substituted 1/2 c applesauce for shortening/butter and halved the sugar. Reading more recent reviews, I added 1 tsp of baking powder. I baked it in my conventional oven. From the last experience, I was not expecting much, just something edible to munch on. What a surprise that it came out good this time. Maybe the addition of the baking powder and baking in conventional oven?? I still prefer the Low-Fat Banana Bread I but wouldn't mind if I ran out of eggs more often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This is the easiest and best tasting banana bread ever! I did add about 1/2 c milk. The kids ate it all by the end of the day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Everytime I make this bread it disappears quickly and no one ever imagines it isn't made with eggs or milk. I make it with extra bananas and I wait until they are extremely dark in color so that the flavor is richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This did not turn out for me. The texture was really wet even after baking 65 minutes. It was edible only if eaten out of the fridge to dry it out a bit. Otherwise we couldn't even pick a piece of it up without it falling apart. Sorry, won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is the first recipe I ever made from allrecipes and it's been my favorite banana bread recipe for years. The only thing is, you can't mix nuts in with it or it will crumble apart. You can sprinkle them on top, though. I've substituted all whole wheat for the white flour and brown sugar for the white and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anantadharma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
The description when I clicked on this said it was low-cholesterol, but I can't find that description on the actual page. It should be noted that trans-fat is horrible for cholesterol levels, so anyone who is concerned about cholesterol should not be cooking with a lot of shortening. Dietary intake of cholesterol does not actually have much effect on cholesterol levels. I made a healthier version of this recipe with 1 1/2 cups of ground flaxseed in place of the shortening, 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup splenda, whole wheat flour, an extra banana, and I added about a teaspoon each of cinnamon and nutmeg. I don't have an electric mixer, so I just mixed it by hand. I tasted great but was a bit dense. However, it was just what I was looking for considering that my options were limited as I didn't have any milk or eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Loved it!! I added 1/2 c of milk, and a dash of cinnamon as suggested, and used butter for the shortening. It was sooooo yummy! Full of texture and flavor. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This is a great recipe. I had no issue with fluid amounts or having the consistency become pourable. I have experimented with adding some cinnamon and nutmeg and allspice, all of which has been tasty in about one teaspoon doses. In fact, this recipe is so good, and knowing that the eggless batter is a bonus, I have actually started buying extra bananas to keep for the next loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sudi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States