Banana Bread VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I've been using this recipe for years now, and everyone loves it. No one believes it has no milk or eggs in it. The first couple of times I made this I followed the recipe exactly, and it was a good, simple bread. Now I add different spices, like cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and vanilla. I have made this with Splenda as well, adding unsweetened applesauce to get the moisture back... and I have also used flavored applesauce with wonderful results... my favorite so far being to use Splenda, and add a container of no sugar added blueberry applesauce. I do grease and flour the bread pan to avoid sticking. I mix the wet ingredients in the KitchenAid, including the bananas tossed in whole, then mix the dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Well, this is not bad considering there's no egg. A little heavy, maybe some baking powder or more baking soda would have lightened them up? Or it could be cause I added some chopped walnuts and chocolate chips. I also used half white sugar, half brown, and butter instead of shortening. Not a bad emergency recipe when you're out of eggs but the egg versions are definitely more light and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Excellent! This bread is moist and delicious. I did use canola oil instead of shortening, added about 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the batter, and used 1 cup white and 1/2 cup wheat flour. I also added a streusel topping made from 1/2 C flour, 1/4 C Brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon and 2 TB Butter. Who knew you could make such great banana bread without eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amom2boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Wow! This is the best, most delicious banana bread I have ever tasted! I accidentally used 1 cup flour instead of 1 1/2 cups, and it came out moist and rich, kind of dense, like steamed pudding. Yum! What a delicious mistake! Otherwise, made it exactly as written, except reduced the salt to 3/4 tsp - added nothing. Baked at 325 degrees for one hour, as recipe states. Next time, I will try it with the 1 1/2 cups flour and add to my comments, maybe it will be just as good. But I really liked it with my "mistake" and might keep making it that way! (that's how brownies were invented - a botched chocolate cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I cut this recipie in half and took the other's suggestions. I added some cinnamon and 1/4 cup of milk. Turns out I made a very tasty banana bread pudding. I checked it at 60 min. and left it in for an additional 15 min. And I was worried it would be a "dry" bread. I will try it again-this time without the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I added 1/4 cup of milk and 1/2 brown sugar because I was low on the regular stuff. It's certainly affected the flavor but not in a terrible way. It's not my favorite though, and I likely won't make it again. The milk did help with the moisture level but this didn't make any fireworks go off for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Awesome vegan quick bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Good basic recipe. I don't use shortening so I used butter....but other than that it is good just as is. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I made this once about 2 years ago and I did not care for it. I ran out of eggs again last night and really needed to make banana bread. Grudgingly, I went ahead and tried this recipe again. Like last time, I substituted 1/2 c applesauce for shortening/butter and halved the sugar. Reading more recent reviews, I added 1 tsp of baking powder. I baked it in my conventional oven. From the last experience, I was not expecting much, just something edible to munch on. What a surprise that it came out good this time. Maybe the addition of the baking powder and baking in conventional oven?? I still prefer the Low-Fat Banana Bread I but wouldn't mind if I ran out of eggs more often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This is the easiest and best tasting banana bread ever! I did add about 1/2 c milk. The kids ate it all by the end of the day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States