Rich and Delicious Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I added 1/2 cup of milk and a 1/2 cup of pecans and it turned out excellent!! Very moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I made these as muffins, and baked them about 25 minutes. They were delicious, but didn't really rise. But who cares if they're ugly if they taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I used a 9 inch round pie pan instead of a loaf pan. It started to burn around the edges, cooked it about 10 minutes less. It sure is good now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biggirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very easy recipe and tastes delicious, but my loaf fell in the middle. Can anyone tell me how to remedy that for the future?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I made two side by side BB's this day and sent them to my husband's office. Hands down, this one won! I used butter instead of shortening. I added one small Activa peach yogurt and some vanilla extract, then cooked it 15mn longer. Perfect! Very moist and they all loved it! Now I have to make one for me to enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginceasar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I thought this was okay but I wouldn't make it again. The texture is moist but almost gummy. I found it too sweet and I think the sugar masks the banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Seems to be a fool proof recipe. I made some revisions and it turned out great! Instead of shortening I replaced it with 1/4 c butter and 1/4 c cinnamon apple sauce and used 3/4 c whole wheat flour, 3/4 c white flour. Also used 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 white sugar. Next time I think I'll just do the 1/2 c brown sugar and skip the add'l white sugar. Super easy to make. This version took 55 minutes to cook on convection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I used whole wheat white flour. That was the only change I made I ended up getting 12 muffins out of this recipe. These were good but honestly, I missed the eggs and the banana bread seemed to have no flavor, other than flour and banana. I think it could use a little baking powder, too as well as vanilla flavoring. I also thought it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I really like this recipe. I was looking for something vegan because I am on a low cholesterol diet, but ended up making it with a splash of 1% milk. I also used applesauce in place of the shortening and added 1 tsp of baking powder. It came out a tad rubbery (I think I overmixed it, so it was my fault not the recipe) but really good! I also used bananas that my husband had frozen, so they were super sweet, giving the bread a crazy big banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I was looking for a vegan banana bread recipe as my daughter has severe dairy and egg allergies. Although I don't ever use shortening so I substitute pureed veggies (sweet potato, pumpkin, carrot, etc.) for the shortening for a moist and extra nutritious banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States