Banana Bread VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This recipe is OUTSTANDING. I've baked banana bread for coffee shops the normal way but this recipe exceeds anything I've ever made before, and I've made a ton of banana bread. Seriously, this is the banana bread that dreams are made of. I used all brown sugar (I didn't have any white), margarine for shortening, added some baking powder, a tblsp or so of cinnamon, about a 1/2 cup of light cream and about 2/3 of a cup of oats. I baked it all in an 8x8 pan for about 35 min at 325. The banana bread that came out is as close to perfection as I've ever gotten: super moist, intense banana flavour, a sweet hit while still tasting smooth and mellow. Thank you! I had no eggs at home so this bread was intended to simply fit my ingredient availability but ended up exceeding all expectations and will now definitely be my go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
One of the best. This & banana bread banana bread III are very good. May try more baking soda or an egg next time. Oh, & an 8x4 isn't large enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Great taste! Super easy to make! Mine didn't require any alterations, although I did have to cook it for 70 minutes instead of 60. I'll use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
It was very good and very fluffy!! My friends liked this, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I really liked this recipe because of how simple it is. I used apple sauce instead of shortening and brown sugar instead of white and also added oats. It made me feel less guilty eating it, but it still tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I was dubious when I started - so few ingredients and the order of adding them to the bowl is a bit strange - but this is really simple and good. It's a great base to add your own twist to or leave as is when you want something yummy but don't have much in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Delicious and moist! I made this for a baby shower and received rave reviews. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This may be tolerable for those w/ allergies to eggs or milk, but for those of us who are not I recommend using a traditional recipe w/ eggs. This recipe is a bit to "gummy" for me. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I added 1/2 cup of milk and a 1/2 cup of pecans and it turned out excellent!! Very moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I made these as muffins, and baked them about 25 minutes. They were delicious, but didn't really rise. But who cares if they're ugly if they taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States