Banana Bread VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This is heavenly. I'm munching on some warm as I write - bliss! I added 3/4 cup of whole milk (but as I used metric, I could perhaps have gotten away with less), half a tsp of cinnamon and substituted half the white sugar for brown sugar. It's moist as anything and the brown sugar gives it extra richness and 'tooth'. This is definitely the easiest and best banana bread recipe I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was easy to make and tasted good. I agree with others that the mixture was a bit on the dry side (used US measurements) so I added some milk. I also used butter instead of shortening (I didn't have any on hand), made them in muffin form (for quicker cooking) and added some rolled oats, flaked almonds and shredded coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phuong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I read some of the reviews and quite a lot of you said the mixture was too dry and needed to add milk. This is because it asks for too much flour in the US conversion! If you take a look at Metric it says 190g of flour and 200g of sugar... but it says 1 and half cup flour and 1 cup sugar at US. Anyway the mixture was fine for me :D i recommend cutting down on the salt because it was very salty! Other than that it was good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scarborough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I added 1/2 c. milk, 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. DELICIOUS! Dense and very moist(we like it when slightly undercooked and fudgy - yum!). My FIL devours this when he comes to visit! Good with walnuts, too. I'm now known for my yummy banana bread - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
For an eggless recipe, this bread rocks! I wanted to make a banana bread, but didn't have any eggs - I figured allrecipes would have an eggless recipe, and wonder of wonders, they did! I substituted margarine for the shortening and it turned out delicious. I also added a bit of vanilla for some flavor. I even made a plum version once! Instead of bananas, I substituted 1 cup of pureed plums (threw some canned plums in heavy syrup into the blender) and decreased the sugar to 2/3 cup since the plums were VERY sweet. This variation turned out awesome too - you should try it - an interesting and strong flavor, especially for those who are fans of other quick breads besides the regular banana. UPDATE*** Today I baked this banana bread with the addition of an expired 6 oz Dannon fat free raspberry and white chocolate yogurt. It made the banana bread more tender and fluffy, closer in texture to Janet's Rich Banana Bread on this site, which is the only other banana bread I bake. If you do this, however, decrease the baking temperature to 325 and bake for at least 15 minutes longer than indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by tripleplaysaver
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very good. Moist and dense. I will add some crushed nuts next time. My substitutions/additions: butter instead of shortening, added 3/4c. soy milk, 1 tsp. vanilla extract, 1 tsp. almond extract. Sprinkled top with cinnamon. The interior of this bread was very colorful. I used overripe bananas and 8x8 Jadeite pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belding, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I followed the advice of others and added mashed bananas AFTER the creamed mixture and dry ingredients were mixed together. Also added vanilla (to mashed banana) and cinnamon. Was a nice doughy consistency, looked great! Can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This is the first time I've made an eggless banana bread that didn't taste like baking soda! Thank goodness. My son has severe egg and milk allergies, and I don't like to use shortening so I used a salt-free margarine, and an extra banana in a 9X5 glass bread pan. Added some milk free chocolate chips and it came out great. I did have to cook it for an extra 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I used to make banana bread with eggs, but my son has developed an egg allergy. I tried this so he could eat this with his sisters....and this was fantastic! I added 1/4C milk, and the bread was a bit mushy. I will try this recipe again w/o adding milk and see what happens. I did also add chocolate chips and some walnuts to top it off. Overall - a great EGG FREE recipe!!! **It did firm a little overnight, but much. That did not matter as the kids LOVED it and we are making more this morning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
It was very easy to make!! My kids LOVED the batter, It's not ready yeat.. I will update when we try it! I did use about a tbs of sour cream, 1/4 brown sugar, vanilla and cinnamon!! We will see!! It seems like it is going to be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States