Banana Bread VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I made this yesterday. It reminds me of the bread my grandma use to make. The only thing I changed were the nuts. I used chopped pecans because that was all I had. I will make this again. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
The recipe turned out okay, although I read the reviews before cooking and made some of the suggested tweaks to the recipe: --added 1/2 c. milk, 1/2 stick salted butter, cinnamon --omitted salt and nuts (I don't like nuts in my bread) I actually used pastry/bread flour instead of all-purpose flour. The bread turned out moist and not too sweet, yet dense. I made 4 mini-loaves instead of one large loaf, and it still turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEMESIS94

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to use 4 bananas where most call for only 2 or 3 so I chose this one. Made it exactly as instructed and while it tasted OK, I really would not have known there was an extra banana in it. It was very moist but like other reviewers, I found the consistancy to be off somehow, almost rubbery or spongy. The kids liked it though and never noticed it wasn't my usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This recipe was great. I used two really ripe bananas and two that weren't so ripe, because that's what I had. I also substituted half a cup of ground flax seed for flour (so 1&1/2 c flour, 1/2c flax seed). The pan was a bit too large, so I only cooked it for 50 minutes. Turned out moist and dense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Lighter bread, very low-fat, very yummy hot out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Chewy, rubbery, sticky and thick..I realize that it's a low fat loaf, but why sacrifice good ingredients to make gummy banana bread? Add the oil or butter, it will make all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I used plantains instead of bananas and added cinnamon. Both were good ideas...but this is still a very dense bread. Heavy and chewy. I'll still eat it all by myself, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I added more bananas to make it really moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This is a great low fat recipe. As with ALL banana breads you must use VERY over-ripe bananas. I didn't put the salt in though, and I used light brown sugar in place of the regular sugar, it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
this was an easy recipe and very very good and I will continue to make this recipe as often as I can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States