4H Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Excellent and very moist. Definitely don't bake longer than 50 min. I usually use 3 medium size bananas - which yields about 1 1/2 cups. The less bananas you use, the less cooking time, by 3-5 minutes less. Use all butter for best flavor. This recipe does need spices: 1.5 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and use all brown sugar - reducing to 3/4 cup is plenty sweet) - all seems to be the best ratio. I've made this about a dozen times and these additions make it perfect. This is also easier to make than "Banana Banana Bread" from this site since it requires less bananas - having 2 or 3 ripe bananas is more likely than 5 or 7 & this one has more banana flavor and is more moist. I've made both but use this one for my master recipe. TIP - this bread is pretty moist, but if you need to prolong it even more for giving away, add 2 tablespoon vegtable oil. **update** I have substituted buttermilk for regular milk, and the bread came out super moist. It also improved the texture, making it lighter & spongier. I also cover it tightly with foil after it's baked to let it steam for 1/2 hour or more. A bakery secret for all loaf breads to lock in the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
931 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
It was still baking in the oven when I realized that I hit a jackpot! This is absolutely the best banana bread I've ever had. However, I took many of the suggestions into consideration and I think the recipe shouldn't be followed to the letter. I used 1/2 c butter instead of margarine, 1/2 c white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 1/4 c mashed banana, 2 eggs, and a bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
This banana bread recipe is the best one that I have used. Before I made this recipe, I made the "Banana Banana Bread" recipe that had 5 stars and 728 ratings. I was pretty dissapointed with it. It didn't have as much banana flavor as I like and wasn't as sweet as I like. It also wasn't moist at all. I found this one and decided to make it and the only thing that I found bad about it was that it kinda had the tendancy to fall apart. I might try adding another egg to prevent this next time that I make it. Other than that, it was absolutely delicious!!! It's very very moist and had lots of banana flavor. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla to it, so maybe that helped!!! Good luck and Happy cooking! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This recipe is fabulous. It was super moist and had a lot of flavor. I screwed up and mixed the sugar in with the other dry ingredients instead of the butter and it still turned out fine. After reading some of the reviews, I followed their advice and added 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, and increased the banana amount to 1.5 cups. I also did half brown sugar, half granulated sugar. I made one loaf with walnuts and topped it with more walnuts and about 1/3 c. brown sugar. It created a toasted carmelized top that tasted superb! Would be really good served at a brunch or shower. The only thing I would have changed would be adding more salt, maybe 1/4 - 1/2 tsp. per recipe. A little advice: to make sure the bread doesn't come out "doughy", temp the bread and don't take it out of the oven until it has reach a temp of 190 degrees F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This is so good! I used the previous suggestions and used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 teas. vanilla, 1 teas cinnamon, & 1/2 teas nutmeg..Very good! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I've finally found the perfect recipe - thanks so much for sharing...!!! I used (as suggested by other reviewers) 1/2 cup white sugar & 1/2 cup brown sugar. Added 1/2 tsp cinnamon & 1 tsp vanilla extract. Baked at recommended temp x 45 mins - then turned off stove and left in stove for 15 mins more.. Turned out perfect!!! Thnx again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURSEONALITY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
This is delicious! The perfect traditional banana bread. This loaf bakes of VERY moist and stays that way for days (if it lasts that long!). I omitted the nuts and my toddler loves it. My husband thought it was outrageous. I bake mine in a glass dish so I decrease the temp by about 25 degress and bake it for about 50-60 minutes. This is a keeper! THANK YOU 4H! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
made a few changes to the recipe. 1/3 cup brown sugar, 2/3 cup white sugar. 1 1/2 cups banana, 1 tsp of vanilla, 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I cooked it at 325 for 50- 60 minutes. Bread turned out moist and sweet. It's a very good recipe on it's own, but I like a little added flavor. In the end I even threw in some chocolate chips. 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I have made this bread several times and I can't seem to get it right. The center never seems to cook but the outside is done. I have made better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Great. I changed the recipe slightly by adding 1/3 C of brown sugar in place of 1/3 of white sugar and also adding vanilla and cinnamon. This is awesome with honeybutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 802) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States