Banana Bread V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Made this 2-3 times and was disappointed. It never tasted sweet enough, banana-y enough, and also was a little bitter due to the fact that Baking soda requires an acid, like buttermilk, yogurt or sour cream. So, this time I substituted sour cream for the regular milk. I also reduced the salt and added more banana. We'll see how it turns out this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This is the best banana bread recipe I have ever tasted! It's so dense and moist. Pop a little butter on this bad boy and you have the perfect desert with coffee :) I had to bake about an hour and 5 minutes or so. The top never seems to want to finish in 50 minutes (typical for banana bread time). I also did 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and threw in some cinnamon and sugar on top. TRY THIS! YOU WILL NEVER REGRET IT :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
It taste close to Costcos muffins. I would though cut back the sugar to 3/4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckygunnells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Living In: Cle Elum, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abdulkader Babader
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
just made it... excellent and easy recipe. even though I missed the baking soda and the walnuts and I also ran out of all-purpose-flour and used 1/2 a cup whole wheat flour to make it to 2 cups in total, it went fine and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This tasted great! It was very moist and not overly sweet. I did add vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg and semi-sweet chocolate chips. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
After trying a dozen banana bread recipes, I can now rejoice because THIS RECIPE IS IT! The bread is very easy to make and bakes quickly (I agree with another poster that the baking time is about 50 minutes). This one's a definite keeper! obsessedreader
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Try this recipe! It is simple and easy to make. I have made this several times in the past year, and it always turns out perfect. I follow the exact recipe, adding 1 tsp. of vanilla extract and 1 tsp. of cinnamon for a touch more flavor. Cool and enjoy... thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Use butter not margarine, omit the powder and the salt you do not need it and add a dash of cinnamon to the dry ingredients. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romulus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
not a heavy banana cake which is a great change. It turned out very fluffy. Love it. I did substitute butter for margarine, and only used about 1/4 cup of butter and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
not good.. just not moist at all will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 794) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States