Banana Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
My husband purposely bought a dozen bananas and ate only 3 ( hint, hint). I've never made banana bread, and this was so easy and we loved it so much, i have a feeling that I'll have a full stock of very well ripened bananas on hand courtesy of my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2000
This recipe is a lot like my own "family favorite" passed down by my grandmother. However, this recipe seemed to come out more moist. It is actually better if eaten on the second day. Also, I usually use pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2000
My wife and I made 2 rather large loaves, absolutely gone within 24 hours. This bread was flavorful and substantial, though not overly sweet nor heavy! We can't wait to make more! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2000
This Banana Bread is really delicious. I have made it many times and always get rave reviews. I like the fact that I get 2 large loaves and that I can use up 5 very ripe bananas all at once. Sometimes for a change I add 1/2 cup Butterscotch Chips and reduce the white sugar by 1/2 cup. It is different and really good. Adults and Grandkids love it. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2000
My boyfriend had 6 overripe bananas and was he just going to throw them away when I thought - "hey, I'll make some banana bread". I had never made banana bread before and didn't even have a recipe. So I went on the web and I found this recipe which uses 5 bananas so I decided to try it. It was excellent - so moist and flavorful with a sweet crsipy top crust! And it made two loaves - one for me and one for my boyfriend. I think he's going to be buying bananas more often now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2000
When I made this banana bread,my boyfriend took it to his construction site and the guys ate the whole loaf within minutes! This bread is the best I have made yet! I used Crisco butter sticks and walnuts. I will keep this recipe around for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2000
I had extra bananas lying around so I decided to give this recipe a try...I am so glad I did!!...my boyfriend and whole family ate the 2 loaves in no time at all..everybody loved it..The loaves come out very moist...sweet..and yummy! This is the best banana bread recipe I have tried, and easy to make..Loved it =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2000
I've been bakeing banana bread for over 30 years, & I made small loafes out of this recipe to share with neighbors who no longier bake! I sprayed the loaf pans well, with spray greese, & I just took it out of the oven & it had not raised, & it stuck to the pans as I took them out, to put on the cooling rack! I'll go back to my old tried & true recipe! They turn out well, & are a picture to give as gifts. I was not pleased with my results-- from this recipe. And it isn't like I haven't baked that much in my life time! Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2000
Very moist. This was eaten quickly. Try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
I had some bananas that had gotten ripened too quickly for me to eat them so I searched all over for a good banana bread recipe. I was very hopeful when I tried this one but I was disappointed. The bread came out really heavy and didn't bake well in the center. I guess I will just have to go back to my grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States