Brazilian Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
First of all, this is definitely a cake! At least the way mine turned out. Followed the recipe except added one more banana (b/c I wanted to use all I had) and I did the lemon juice trick w/ the bananas. Also added more spices; 1tsp cinnamon & nutmeg, 1/2 tsp allspice & cardamom, & 1/4 tsp cloves. Mine did take some extra take some extra baking time however. But that could be my oven or something I did; don't think it was the recipe's fault. It came out a smidgen dry as a result but nothing a little whipped cream couldn't handle :) next time I think I'll try mixing the bananas in a little or maybe a drizzle of caramel. Hubby wants it w/ apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
My toddler is allergic to wheat so, I made a GLUTEN FREE version of this cake. We all loved it! Try it warm with a cold glass of milk!! Yummy!!!! The changes I made: butter instead of margarine; 2 Cups of organic gluten free pancake and baking mix (Arrowhead Mills) - yes, 2 cups not 3! I didn't want it to be dense like most gluten free cakes; 1 tsp xanthan gum; almond milk instead of cow's milk ( I didn't have any cow's milk) I had to bake the cake longer (maybe because of the changes I made) Gluten free food CAN be tasty!!!! Thanks for the recipe Fernanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made this and ended up with a very dense cake that resembled more of a bread. After reading the sponge cake tips on allrecipes, I am pretty sure it was because I didn't handle the eggs correctly. The taste was great, but I think the heavy density was my own error, not necessarily this recipe, so I gave this 4 stars and can't wait to try this again. Next time I'll make this with room temp eggs, beaten just to stiff peaks, and then gently fold in the beaten eggs. All were tips I got from the baking section on this site. This might be the difference between those who thought it was more like a cake vs bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I really like these but the hubby didn't so I am not sure if I will make it again since it makes a large amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I'd say this is a cake. The taste is good, but I'm a little put off by the texture. That might be just me though...since it said banana bread, I let the bananas let the bananas get overripe like I do for my normal banana bread, and that may have been my mistake. I do like the cinnamon-sugar on the top. If you sprinkle it evenly, the lemon juice isn't really necessary because the bananas are covered in cinnamon and brown anyway. Overall, I would probably make it again but I might incorporate the bananas in the cake instead of having them on top, but I'd still do the cinnamon sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
YUM! This is definitely not banana bread, I served it as Brazilian banana cake, cuz there's milk in it so it's really moist. I added 1/4 t of nutmeg and cinnamon into the batter and sprinkled brown sugar instead of white on top of the sliced bananas. The results: a nice banana-y surprise and a pretty brown sugar and cinnamon swirl in the middle of the cake. Soooo goood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Pretty easy to make and smelled delicious. If I make it again, I would briefly soak the bananas in lemon juice so they don't darken. Also, I cut the bananas lengthwise because the recipe didn't indicate crosswise or lengthwise and they looked like anchovies on top when baked. So I dusted with powder sugar to hide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF MARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I made this for my brother who's mom was from San Paulo, and was coming home from serving in Iraq. It turned out better than I could have imagined! It tasted exactly like a dessert that his mom used to make for us as kids! I had no idea that I was making the same thing. He loved it & so did my family. We all stood in the kitchen and ate it all gone, there wasn't anything left after a half hour. Well worth the time and work involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I wanted a quick and easy dessert to make for dinner tonight and this recipe was quick and easy. I didn't know about the lemon juice trick, it pay's to read the reviews first!! Delicious bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiloh, Ohio, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
My husband is from brazil and absolutely loved this cake! It was fun to make and the compliments i got from everyone boosted my ego!! I did use some lemon juice on top of the bananas to help them not go brown...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States