Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This recipe is absolute perfection! I added a couple of extra bananas and a generous amount of walnuts. I used the recipe to make muffins and they came out perfect and they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I am a busy mom. So when the instructions told me to bake for an hour and check it with a toothpick I set the timer for an hour. When the timer went off the bread was burnt on the outside and hard and dry on the inside. I wasted time and ingredients. This may be a good recipe but I wouldn't know. I recommend only setting the timer for 40 minutes and then go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This recipe is identical to the one handed down in my family. Just like the submitter, I have been making this recipe since I was a child. My Mom always liked to serve it with cream cheese spread on it, but I prefer it without or even warmed up with a little butter on it. Most people like this recipe, but I notice that among those that don't, a common theme of "too dry" and "flavorless" come up. My guess is that you are not using ripe enough bananas. This recipe should be made with over-ripe bananas that have fully black skins. Over-ripe bananas are very flavorful, sweet, and wet. This is my "go to" recipe when I have a few bananas that have gotten too ripe to eat as hand fruit. I freeze peeled over-ripe bananas in a zipper bag until I have accumulated 3 and then I make this recipe. If I don't have enough mash to make up a cup, I scale the recipe down. I never substitute less ripe bananas, because the sugar and moisture content won't be right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Simple Basic Kind of boring (I add cinnamon and vanilla and just use this recipe when I lack the ingredients to make my favorite banana bread recipe) Hard to screw up though and nothing 'wrong' with it, its just nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I added about 1/2 cup more bananas (because I hated to waste the extra after mashing them) but otherwise followed the recipe as written. this is a great recipe and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by slgilde
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I used this as a base recipe and used what was available in the pantry as had some overripe bananas that I did not wish to waste ( isn't that what banana bread is for?) So I used 1 cup all purpose flour and 3/4 cup of w/w flour, 1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup brown sugar, 4 small bananas and from reading other reviews, splashed in some half & half and added cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla and a combo of pecans and walnuts. This came out as I had hoped , sweet but not too sweet and fluffy ( I mixed with a hand blender over 2 min) and just moist enough, not wet and not dry/ crumbly. I will save and make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slgilde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I tried this recipe as is and it was really good, I then tried the recipe adding 1/2 cup of heavy cream like suggested and I have to say this is better. The bread was moist and by far the best I have ever tasted. I get compliments from everybody. I can only make this banana bread when I have company around or I will eat the entire thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatmeimasandwich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
My boyfriend said this is the best banana bread (I omitted the nuts) he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I've never given a review on anything, but this recipe has forced me to do so. Simply delicious!!! Perfect combination between a bread and cake texture and so easy to make! Just like what my mom used to make! Thanks for sharing Carol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I loved this. So yummy. I also poured a little bit of sugar in the raw on top of it and it made a yummy crunchy crust. But that was just icing on the cake, so to speak! Oh, and I didn't have any walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States