Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This was a very yummy recipe....with a few modifications. First, I added 1/2 cup of heavy cream for a moisture texture, I used VERY ripe bananas, and used 3/4 cup of walnuts. I also mixed the dry ingredients and the "wet" ingredients seperately before blending them and and carefully added walnuts last. Also, my secret....SHHH!...after the bread has cooled completely, I wrapped it up in plastic wrap and let it sit (to allow flavors to blend)then served it the next day. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
The first time I baked this bread, it was quite good. I made it again today and decided to try some of the variations suggested by other reviewers: I added extra banana (the riper, the better), 1/2 cup of heavy cream, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon of vanilla, and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. Cooked it for exactly an hour, and the result was even better the second time around. The bread had a mouthwatering aroma, which filled up our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I tried this recipe but added about a half-cup extra banana mush and used half brown sugar. The taste was good, but the texture was lacking the quality I was looking for. It's just not my mom's recipe. It's light and fluffy, and if that's what you want, this is the recipe for you, but I wanted heavier and with a darker color and texture (and more banana flavor). I think beating the eggs first and adding the banana to the liquid, then blending the dry ingredients in would be better for texture as well. All in all, a nice light snacking loaf, but not what I had in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEETHING

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Using some suggestions from previous reviews, I modified as follows: I added 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, 1/2 cup heavy cream and substituted 3/4 cup of flour for whole wheat flour. This produced a dense and very flavorful bread. I especially like the ease of preparation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This is the best banana bread recipe I have found so far. It has great banana flavor and moist texture that I like in banana bread. I added 1 tsp each of vanilla, cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. Next time I might try adding chocolate chips just for another twist to this great basic recipe. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Great banana flavor, easy to make. I've made it more than once and everyone loves it. Hard to overcook, too, which is always a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANTABIROSTRIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
My daughter helped me make this recipe, and though it was easy, the taste left much to be desired. I don't know if it was just myself, but I only managed one tiny sliver before I couldn't eat it. I think I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMERALDSEYE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skaneateles, New York, USA
Living In: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I've had (and made)much better banana bread. This recipe was kind of blah. I will be switching back to my standard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I'm not a banana bread fan, so I didn't actually try this recipe. But my friends all raved about it. My sister shared some of the bread with her dorm hall -- it was gone so quickly! Now I've had requests from all of her friends... Great recipe, and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Very moist and easy to make. I added cranberries to give it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States