Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This was my first time to bake banana bread (ever). It turned out fabulously...the addition of vanilla really made it special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
just okay- not as moist as some other banana bread recipes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is such a simple and easy recipe, and it makes such excellent banana bread! It is really a great "base" recipe, because you can customize it to your liking very easily, or just follow the recipe and get no-brainer, wonderful, easy, delicious bread. I have made this twice now, The first loaf, I followed the recipe exactly, baked for 1 hour at 350 degrees, and it was fantastic! I think this bread is best after it cools down and the flavors have a chance to mature. Steaming hot from the oven it is very tempting to slice it up and dig in, (especially after your kitchen smells so good while it's baking) but the banana flavor doesn't seem to be well developed at that point... Nice light, moist, cake-like texture, with a sweet banana flavor and gently crunchy walnuts. It had a crisp, chewy, perfectly golden browned crust. I put plastic wrap over the hot loaf after taking it out of the oven and let it cool for a while to keep it from drying out much. Rave reviews from all tasters! My second loaf, I followed the recipe except added 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips and some cinnamon and vanilla. It was good, but I think I prefer it without chocolate chips... For easy mixing, I put all my dry ingredients together in a large mixing bowl and "sift" them together by running my electric mixer through it for a minute or so, then separately mix my wet ingredients (butter, eggs, and banana) together before mixing into the flour/sugar mix, then fold in the nuts and/or choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was my third baking recipe since I've started cooking -- and it's a KEEPER. I followed other reviewers by adding a teaspoon each of cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla. It turned out beautifully and oh so good. As a rank beginner, I heartily recommend this to those who want a success to show off to family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Northglenn, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
very good!! makes very moist bread, with good banana taste...i feel like something is missing though...will probably add some cinnamon or nutmeg or something next time. good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Tastes fantastic. I substituted the walnuts with choc. chips, and I added vanilla. 55 minutes was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Great texture and consistancy! However, I added a little vanilla, cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg for added flavor, plus a cup of applesauce and an extra 1/4 cup flour. Baked exactly 1 hr at 350 and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I was looking for a mango bread recipe for my two ripe mangos. While looking at the banana bread recipes, I figured out I could substitude the mashed bananas for cubed mangos. It was a success! There were a few changes I did to the recipe to make it more diet friendly. First, I used 2/3 cup of eggbeaters, 2/3 cup of Splenda, 1 & 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/3 cup of unsweetened apple sauce. The two ripe mangos yielded exactly 2 cups. I added 1 tsp of vanilla and after baking it for 50 minutes the results were tasty and moist. Surprisingly, the mangos did not sink to the bottom of the bread after it was baked. I will continue to use this recipe for mango bread and banana bread. Next time I will substitude some soy flour for the whole wheat flour and add some flax seed powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momotada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Oh my gosh! This is so good! I'm giving it four stars though because I did add a little extra. To keep it moist, it definitely needs more bananas. I added 1 3/4 cups of bananas instead and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon for a little spice. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina G

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Do this nice recipe entirely in a food processor. Pulse the dry ingredients very briefly. Be sure to reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp. and be sure to add 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. You don't want to drown out the banana flavor, just enhance it. Combine the eggs, 1 tsp. vanilla, melted butter, cut-up bananas and 1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts and add to dry ingredients. Pulse just a few times to combine. I found that 50 minutes in the oven is quite enough to produce a beautiful looking and tasty loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States