Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This banana bread recipe was okay, not the best I have had. It was not as moist as I would like and not as banana-y as I expected. I added the 1 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp cinammon, and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract that other users recommended. I definitely think it could have done without the baking powder (probably what made it too fluffy), and I would use a full tsp of cinammon and vanilla to boost the flavor next time. Might throw in some chocolate chips to make it as a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is the best banana bread I've ever made. I added a teaspoon and a half of cinnamon... oh, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
very awesome anyone should try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I love this banana bread as is. No alterations. I was looking for a basic banana bread and this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Added the extra 1/2 tsp baking soda as suggested. I was going to add a 4th banana as well, but the bananas I had were good size and three looked like plenty. Baked in a cast iron skillet for about 45 minutes at 350. Turned out perfect! Edges were crispy, center was moist but not gooey or falling apart. Quick and easy to make! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PORKBUN
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The perfect recipe. It works every time. I add a splash of nutmeg and vanilla just for our liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
My hubby is diabetic, so I did a little playing around with the recipe. I replaced the white sugar with 1/2 cup Splenda granular (NOT the one for baking) and 1/4 cup Splenda Brown Sugar. I also added one more banana since I had several that were getting too old to keep. I also added 1/2 tsp. baking powder, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, and 1 tsp. vanilla extract, as suggested by another reviewer. I also took that reviewer's advice and replaced 1/2 cup of flour with whole wheat flour since I had some I needed to use. Right before pouring the batter into the baking dishes, I mixed in 1 cup chopped pecans. After splitting the batter into a bread dish and a cake dish, I baked them as per the instructions. The only thing I will do differently next time is put the whole bowl of batter into one bread baking dish...the Splenda did not allow it to rise as much as it should have risen while in the oven so I cut it up into cake-like pieces when it was done. Placed into just one dish would've made it "sandwich-slice worthy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Benito, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I follow the recipe exactly as its posted every time and each time it's perfect! I wouldn't change a thing! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Pretty good banana bread, reminds me of the ones from the cafe. Really good with chocolate chips and walnuts :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 687) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States