Banana Bread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
These cookies were terrific with some major tweaking so I can only give them a 4, but after adjustment they are a 6! I followed the suggestion of adding an extra banana and using the banana butter icing from this site, but the dough was way too thin for cookies so I added 1 c. of quick oats as well. I also used half white sugar and half brown sugar just because I like cookies with brown sugar. The end result was phenomenal. I actually only iced half of them because my family liked them plain as well. They taste like muffin tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
These are AWESOME! I didn't have butter flavored shortening, so I subbed 1/2 cup butter & 1/2 cup shortening, & next time I will add another banana. I'm tellin ya, this beats the morning time mess (AKA: crumbs from cutting banana bread that I clean up), now the kids just take them & run! I also didn't have powdered sugar, so I used "Satiny Chocolate Glaze" (found on this web site) on the top, delish! They really didn't need the glaze they are good plain. Thanks Molly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
YUM-MEE! Like other reviewers I added 1/4 C extra flour, 1/2t. baking powder, and a bunch of chocolate chips. Dee-lish. So fluffy and cakelike. The recipe makes about 36 cookies, but if you eat them quickly enough before your husband gets home, you can say it just makes 24!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShawnaRae
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe. Not too sweet, moist, fluffy and tasty. I halved this recipe, along with using margarine, and half whole wheat flour. I also added more banana. So good!! Oh- Also added pecans and walnuts!! But make alot, they disappear quickly. Another thing- No need for icing, just dust with powdered sugar, it will be all the sweetness you need. ****Edit:The only bad thing about these, is the tops get moist and soggy. Dont stack them on top of each other, they get very sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I tweaked it a little because it was a weak version of banana bread....lacked flavor.And walla! Delish! I followed the recipe exactly...just added 1/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar, 1/3 cup finely chopped walnuts and 1 more banana. I think 3 bananas would be even better! Tasted just like good ole' southern "like grandma use to make" banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraLye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
This recipe turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
These "cookies" were delicious. I had to tweak the recipe a little but they turned out great. I used 2 bananas, brown sugar instead of white, butter instead of shortening, added 1/2 cup more flour and cinn. and nutmeg. They didn't need the frosting. I dusted with powdered sugar. They are so fluffy and light. They are more like a muffin top than a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lemont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
These cookies are wonderful! Just alittle note: after you make up the batter, chill it for an hour or so. They come out like little cakes. I didn't use the frosting on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
I LOVE this recipe!! I'm NOT a baker, but this is SO EASY! I have a daughter who dislikes bananas, but she's OK with this. I make this EVEN EASIER by plopping all the cookie dough (it's very much like BATTER) into a greased 9X12 cake pan and baking for 25-30 minutes at the recommended temperature. Iced or not, cut into bars, these are WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
These are great cookies! My husband made them and added Chocolate chips and walnuts and then doubled the bananas. They are light and fluffy. Turned out perfectly and I will use this recipe over the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States